BETTER LEARNER

Ramsha Mehar
3 min readFeb 7, 2018

--

As learning is the process of acquiring new or modifying existing knowledge, behaviors, skills, values, or preferences. Even if we learn something new, old or modify earlier things or we learn at any age, we always have to face some challenges. It takes some time to be learnt anything.

“If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.”

Same the case with me too. When I start to learn new things, I always face the challenges as:

  • It takes a lot of time to be understood some difficult things, not all new things.
  • I always get worried soon if I couldn’t get the points at start of learning which makes me less-interested to learn.
  • I always want someone who make me learn politely otherwise I get confused and don’t want to continue learn.
  • I get distract while doing something or learn due to social media, not having good plan, useless thinking, teasing by youngest sister, having guests at home or any other interesting activity.
  • Sometimes while working online, some other challenges are internet or electricity issues to have a work done in time.

But I am glad for having online courses by Amal which provided great techniques to overcome or reduce that challenges.

“Obstacles do not block the path, they are the path.”

The takeaways from that course can be:

  • Using Diffuse thinking makes us much productive and strong to learn anything well rather than Focused thinking. (As all great people always did their good jobs with relaxed feelings like Thomas Edison and Dalli).
  • Learning new things always take time, just we need to practice.
  • The expert in anything was once a beginner.
  • Making daily or weekly to-do-lists and pomodoro technique can prevent us to be procrastinator.
  • All procrastination are not bad.
  • Physical exercise is necessary to learn better. It freshen mind to understand something in a good way.
  • Face the fear. Good worry helps providing motivation and focus but Bad worry simply wastes energy.

“Knowing is not enough, We must apply. Willing is not enough, We must do.”

As I listed out all challenges and their solutions as well, now I would apply it on daily basis even for small challenges too. Like I would practice when anything takes time to be understood by me, would take deep breath to face the fear, would use diffuse thinking to overcome worry or sometime would be good worried as needed. Some of them I already have started to use as using to-do-lists, pomodoro technique and taking deep breath to keep myself calm. Just one thing that might be difficult for me is physical exercise:) but would try as much as possible.

--

--