100 Reasons I love America: Food

Ramya Sethuraman
3 min readMay 29, 2015

The foods I call out here are conspicuous by their normalcy. But, I hadn’t known these normal but just perfect foods back in India. In India, I ate Indian food, Indian food from all across…India! My reasons 26–30 to love America are all about food. Food that America introduced to me and food that I fell in love with.

#26 Ravioli and Tiramisu at Olive Garden

Olive Garden is a definitely middle class American Italian restaurant. You don’t dress up to go to Olive Garden. You go there because the restaurant tolerates loud kids and tempestuous toddlers. I fell in love with Olive Garden for different reasons though. For their soft breadsticks and simple tossed salad, for their perfectly rich and creamy ravioli and absolutely delectable Tiramisu. I learnt the different pasta varieties that existed from a colleague during lunches at Olive Garden. K and I treated our friends at Olive Garden when we both landed our first real jobs at IBM. It was my first favorite restaurant in America and will always be!

#27 Singapore Tomato Curry at Iching

For a long time, I avoided Japanese and Chinese restaurants because I always failed to find a good selection of vegetarian food there. Until I discovered the awesome Asian fusion restaurant called Iching in Lexington, Kentucky. I remember appreciating their tagline, “Asian with an Attitude” and equally appreciating their tart, spicy and sweet Singapore Tomato curry with perfectly cooked white rice. This was another of our go-to places for work lunches back in the good old days in Lexington.

#27 Baklava, roasted potatoes & Tatziki sauce

Potatoes are the best. I mean, you can’t do much to them to make them taste bad. And the golden roasted potatoes and Tatziki sides are my standard fare in Mediterranean restaurants in America. K and I discovered this neat little Mediterranean restaurant, Shiraz Cafe, tucked away near our home in Alpharetta, Georgia and I remember wondering how long it took for the food to be served to us. But, it was that kind of place — unhurried and expecting people to sit down, put their phones away and enjoy their nice potatoes and Baklava. I miss that restaurant. Or perhaps I miss that unhurried time.

#29 Pad Thai with peanuts!

When K and I studied at the University of Kentucky, we were regulars at this Thai restaurant called Bangkok Cafe. The owner believed more in effective service than courtesy but over time, we won him over by being there all the time. After a while, he would bring the little red bowl of super spicy red sauce without me asking. It was the perfect topping for the sweet and crispy Pad Thai which I quickly got addicted to. The restaurant was always crowded and parking was always a problem but the Pad Thai was so worth the trouble!

#30 Cream of Broccoli soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Who hasn’t had grilled cheese sandwich? That would be me, before I came to America. I have had sandwiches in India but the Bombay style sandwiches, with slices of cucumber and tomatoes and spicy masala spread on it. Not the oozing, melting cheese inviting you between the perfectly grilled and lined golden brown sandwiches. Such a simple food but somehow, such a perfect and decadent little food! Paired with a rich Cream of Broccoli soup, it is indeed the perfect American food for me!

What is this post all about? I need to know the first 25 reasons now!

--

--