Beyond “Don’t Compare Yourself To Others”

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle
4 min readJun 12, 2020

--

Don’t think about eggs.
Don’t think about eggs.
Don’t think about eggs.
Don’t think about eggs.
Don’t think about eggs.

So. What are you thinking about?

I’m thinking about eggs.

photo: Wokandapix/ pixabay

The more you tell me to not think about something, the more I actually think about it. It’s like a big red button in my brain that says “don’t press”. My brain is definitely pressing that button.

Instead, this is what I needed before I actually stopped comparing myself to others:

  • to know why I so naturally reverted to comparison
  • to learn how to shift away from such an automatic thought process

Comparison as a metric

photo: Tumisu / pixabay

Mark Manson talks about how we can have different metrics for measuring some kind of underlying value.

What I realized was that my comparison to other students derived from using default, popular metrics that others were using to measure their own success or productivity:

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.