It’s difficult to write daily for Medium, and that's okay.

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle
3 min readJun 18, 2020

--

As soon as I joined Medium I was automatically bombarded with a bajillion articles about how the only journey to improvement (and the only way to earn money on this platform) is to post daily.

I was honestly quite curious about what that would look like and tried it out. As context, I have never written professionally other than for scientific journals, and that is a long arduous process.

My last manuscript went through something like twenty drafts with my supervisor and that is actually another story on its own. Idea for tomorrow’s post? Stay tuned.

I thought, “if I’m writing about my own experiences and sharing my perspectives on things”, surely it wouldn’t take me eight months to produce a submittable draft? If I can write three continuous typed pages for morning pages, surely more structured writing won’t be that much harder?

I’m wrong. It is hard.

But I’m sticking with it.

free-photos/pixabay

I set a goal to write daily for at least 6 months and so far I’m averaging about 11 articles over 15 days, which is pretty good, considering that I (successfully) defended my oral comprehensive exams amidst that.

For me, I’m still discovering my own voice (am I too informal? do I need to be more informal at the risk of…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.