31 Days of Shocktober Drabbles: Release and Catch

Randee Dawn
1 min readOct 3, 2019

--

Volterra, Italy (Photo by Randee Dawn)

Bettina next door feeds feral cats. “ASPCA snips ’em, drops ’em off,” she says. “Catch and release.”

Meanwhile, the intact ones attack my garden. I throw orange peels, coffee grounds to ward them off. They move to the porch.

Max is useless. He barks once at a black-and-white, then turns tail. “Pathetic,” I hiss.

Yesterday, five more glowered at our front door. I force Max out. He’s still gone.

Now I count twelve ferals. A giant orange tom wears a slash of red paint across his mouth like lipstick. Or blood.

I don’t think I’ll go out today.

Maybe tomorrow.

Day 3 of 31: 100-word Drabbles.

Like what you’re reading? Sign up for my newsletter, and you’ll get all 31 days as an e-book collection at the end of the year (plus other goodies month by month)!

--

--