A Visit to the ER

Randy Pulley
2 min readApr 14, 2023

Today was a scary day.

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Before reading I want you to know, I am not a medical professional!

Well, I’m a little behind on reading and comment on your Medium articles today. After taking my 3-mile morning walk today, I wasn’t quite feeling right. I decided to sit down for a while and see if the feeling would pass. It felt like my heart was racing and I couldn’t cool down.

About 15 minutes later, my Apple watch flashed a notification, “If you have not been diagnosed with atrial fibrillation, we recommend you see your doctor.”

Because of this message, I went to the local Urgent Care facility where they gave me an EKG and then called an ambulance to transport me to the hospital ER.

The paramedics monitored my heartrate on the way to the ER, confirming I was experiencing atrial fibrillation, which is an inconsistency in heart rate. I’m not a medical professional, so suffice it to say, I could feel my heart erratically fluttering in my chest, which caused me to be extremely anxious.

I was checked into the hospital where they ran a battery of tests. The cardiologist on duty said they have seen numerous people in the ER who received the same message as me on their Apple watch and in each case the accuracy of the watch was confirmed.

--

--

Randy Pulley

Retired, enjoying finding the humor in life. Top Writer in Food.