Nine Questions. Raphael Chen, Taiwan Taipei Photography

Raphael Chen
chuckycat
Published in
5 min readOct 8, 2018

Question 1

Hi Raphael firstly tell us more about yourself. How did you get started onphotography? Do you think you were born to be a photographer?

拉斐爾先生首先告訴我們更多關於你自己的事。你是怎麼開始的攝影?你認為你是一個攝影師嗎?

I was an amateur photographer before, I started from landscape photography, and made commercial / business photos for image stock website. By chance, I learned and got to know more about wedding photography, then I was specialized in portrait shooting until now. Yes true, I am a photographer, I always create my aesthetic sense to take unique photos for my service customers.

我原本是一個業餘的攝影玩家,從風景開始拍攝,接著投入了圖片庫攝影,替一些影像素材網站拍攝照片。因緣際會接觸了婚禮拍攝,接著就將重心放在拍攝人像到現在。我認為我是一個專業攝影師,我發揮我的美感和拍攝經驗替客人們拍攝獨一無二的照片。

Question 2

Did you face any difficulties when you first started out as a photographer? And what is your favorite part of being a photographer?

剛開始做攝影師時,你遇到了什麼困難嗎?你最喜歡的攝影師是什麼?

I had lots of difficult problems when I did the commercial / business photo works, and I couldn’t ask for others help, couldn’t solve them either. so I began to shooting wedding photography, I also worked on assistant position with other photographers for a while. When I learned about the knowledge and theory of photography more, I began to be a independent photographer and work till now.

剛開始遇到的困難,主要是一些商業上的問題,而這部分對許多已經是職業的攝影師來說,是無法分享的話題。所以一開始在拍攝婚禮影像時,也擔任其他攝影師的助手一段時間,等我了解業界的生態與精煉我的攝影技術後,獨立拍攝到現在。

I like many photographers of art portrait, there’re a lot of photographers who inspired my photography style. The favorite photographer is Elizaveta Porodina, but the most influence styles are Don+Helen and Marta Bevacqua. Most of these photographers are European.

喜歡的攝影師很多,有很多啟發我攝影風格的攝影師,最喜歡的攝影師是Elizaveta Porodina,但影響我風格最多的是Don+Helen跟Marta Bevacqua。這些攝影師大多數是歐洲人。

Question 3

What was your career path? How did you get from being an aspiring photographer to actually doing it full time, for a living?

你的職業道路是什麼?你是如何從一個有抱負的攝影師到實際做到全職,為生的?

I was an electronics engineer at first, I became a professional photographer because I like photography and exploring the world.

我最早是一個工程師,因為對攝影與探索世界的熱愛成為職業攝影師。

Question 4

We know that you travel a lot doing photoshoots. Does that affect the way you shoot as compared to other Taiwan photographers?

我們知道你經常旅行拍攝照片。與其他台灣攝影師相比,這會影響您拍攝的方式嗎?

Yes, people of different nationalities have different requirements for the style of shooting. Whether it is color or composition, there are their own opinions. I often learn the beauty sense of different perspectives from different countries people, and these different thinking will blend with my original thinking into my new perspectives.

是的,不同國情的人對於拍攝風格要求都不同,不論是顏色或是構圖方式都有不一樣的習慣,因為不同國家文化會影響他們美感養成。我常常從不同國家的人身上學習到不同觀點的美,而這些不一樣的養分會跟我原本的認知混合成我自己的觀看角度。

Question 5

Recently, it’s been a trend for foreigners to travel to Taiwan to do their pre-wedding photoshoot here. In your opinion, what makes Taiwan a unique place to do a photoshoot?

最近,外國人前往台灣進行婚禮前拍攝照片是一種趨勢。在您看來,是什麼讓台灣成為拍攝照片的獨特場所?

I think because of Taiwan is a narrow and long islands, Taiwan’s mountains are very close to the sea, you can shoot completely different landscapes in one day. This is very beneficial for landscape portrait photographers.

Then there is culture effect. Lots of Taiwan’s culture is mix by Japan and chinese culture, this is different from other Southeast Asian countries. Therefore, it is very distinctive for neighboring countries. Finally speak to the price issue. Taiwan’s prices are very good and cheaper then Hong Kong, Singapore and Japan… etc.

我覺得因為是狹長形島嶼的關係,台灣高山跟大海都非常近,可以在一天內拍攝到截然不同的地貌,這對風景為主的人像攝影師來說非常有利。再來是文化,台灣深受日本影響同時又揉和中國文化,有別於東南亞其他國家的文化風格,也因此對於周邊國家來說,是非常有特色。最後是價格問題,台灣的物價相對於香港、新加坡、日本來說,實在非常物美價廉。

Question 6

What can clients get when they engage you for a photoshoot? And what is your style?

客戶在拍攝照片時可以獲得什麼?你的風格是什麼?

I always believe that shooting is a very comfortable and natural process, and from the selection of camera to the pose guide process, I try my best to choose not to intervene too much, hope to let them feel free even forget the photographer existence. And then present the best of theirselves which never imagine to see their true colours, this is my style.

我一直相信拍照是很舒服自然的過程,也因此從器材選擇到引導過程,我都盡力選擇不過度介入的方式,希望能夠讓他們忘記攝影師的存在,進而展現出最自然的一面,甚至是自己也未曾想像隱藏在表面下的自己,我想這就是我的拍攝風格。

Question 7

Where are you available for hire? And what are your favourite places in Taiwan to have a photoshoot?

你最喜歡在台灣拍攝照片的地方是什麼?

My favorite location is Taiwan’s JinGuaShih. Cause I can shoot mountains and sea at the same time, and there is still a sense of loneliness. If every photographers has their own scene, I hope this mountain and sea is my impression.

我最喜歡拍攝的地點是台灣的金瓜石,因為我在這邊能夠同時拍攝到山與海,同時還有一絲寂寥感。如果每個攝影師都有一個識別的場景,我希望這片山海是我的影像記憶。

Question 8

Imagine today there is a foreigner couple coming to Taiwan to do a 2 days photoshoot for their wedding? How would you plan their itinerary/schedule?

想像一下,今天有一對外國夫婦來台灣為他們的婚禮做了2天的拍攝嗎?你會如何規劃他們的行程/時間表?

If the couple’s wedding is on their second day, I will take them to the JinGuaShih on the first day that to see the mountain view and seascape of Taiwan. In the sunset, we will have an engagement wedding on the golden grass field. After engagement I will invite them to the famous night market of Taiwan, take photos of the night street with Taiwan impressions. The next day I would like them to fully enjoy their wedding, and leave their wedding memory through my camera.

如果他們婚禮是辦在第二天,我會在第一天開車帶他們到金瓜石,帶著他們爬山看看台灣的山景,並且從山上往下眺望東北角的海景。在夕陽時分,一片金黃色的草原下舉行Engagement wedding。結束後,我會邀請他們到台灣聞名的夜市,用餐的同時我也替他們拍攝有台灣印象的夜景街道照片。

第二天我會希望他們充分地享受自己的婚禮,我會利用我的觀看角度去替他們記錄下他們婚禮影像。

Question 9

What motivates you to continue taking pictures?

您繼續拍照的動機是什麼?

Be able to meet more people and know this world more.

能夠認識更多的人,更加認識這個世界。

--

--

Raphael Chen
chuckycat

嘗試以影像說故事的說書人,崇仰工藝精神的手藝者。以文字餵養,用音樂調劑,雙足走向世界盡頭,立志成為現代遊牧民族。IG:@raphaelchen.tw、@raphaelchen.foto