The logo looks the best ^_^

Designing UI for a live streaming app: process of making User Interfaces and Logos

Rashi Karanpuria
5 min readAug 5, 2017

I am working on a live streaming Android app, using which one can live stream on their YouTube accounts. To test out the API I first developed the back-end logic of the app using YouTube Live Streaming API and following YouTube WatchMe for Android app as reference. It works well as far as the logic is concerned but the UI looks so bad, no would want to use it. No colour scheme no particular theme, random elements placed anywhere as needed. Obviously, I decided to work on the User Interface. Live streaming is already an uphill task considering the content creator needs to take care of their appearance, expressions, content, light, camera and what not. The least we can do is give them a simple and intuitive app, that is a cakewalk to use. So, here is how I reached the end result.

The colour palette came first:

I first worked on the colour palette, keeping the basic elements I had decided upon, in mind. I wanted a lot of white space with minimalist elements and no material design. I used a colour palette generator tool to zero down on my palette after a lot of permutations and combinations. Coolors is a great tool that lets you lock certain colours tweak others and nicely visualise that palette. Here is the palette I zeroed in on.

--

--