Using Google’s ReCAPTCHA with Android

Rashi Karanpuria
AndroidPub
Published in
4 min readJun 27, 2017

--

Last week I needed a service to verify whether my app users were humans or bots so that my bot users don’t kill me and take over the world. I researched a bit and found some captcha services that were fun and some that were free *smirk*. I decided to give reCAPTCHA a try. Mostly because I found this particular line on their webpage very appealing.

reCAPTCHA makes positive use of this human effort by channeling the time spent solving CAPTCHAs into digitizing text, annotating images, building machine learning datasets. This in turn helps preserve books, improve maps, and solve hard AI problems.

Not to mention advanced risk analysis and machine learning that they use to make it a good experience for our beloved human users.

So without further ado lets jump into integrating reCAPTCHA in our Android app.

Step 1: Go through reCAPTCHA Terms of Service

And then tell me if I need to read them too.

Step 2: Register a reCAPTCHA key pair

Go to https://g.co/recaptcha/androidsignup, add a label for your key, provide the…

--

--

Rashi Karanpuria
AndroidPub

Software Engineer @ Google | Author of Kotlin Programming Cookbook | www.rashikaranpuria.com