SEPTEMBER 17, 2022 (DAY 9)

EDIT: Life Is A Risk

Rashidah Bernay
2 min readSep 18, 2022

Part of the Refresh Your Soul 30-Day Writing Challenge

This writing challenge is harder than I thought it would be. I’m not sure if it’s the making sure I write everyday or obligation of expanding my mind to actually answer these questions. Today’s question (and process to answering it) is no different:

What is the biggest risk you’ve ever taken? What gave you the courage to take the risk?

I feel like I’ve taken many risks. We all have to a certain extent. And the reasons for each risk is different. For example, my risk in pursuing a career in performance art was taken because I don’t know who I am without it. I love to be on a stage and live to tell stories to inspire others. One could also argue that I may not have gotten all the attention I felt I needed in adolescence. All are true. My risk for getting married was out of the need to feel loved and wanted because I wasn’t secure enough in myself at the time to believe otherwise. My divorce was a risk because it left me a single parent in an unstable position, but it was necessary because i realized I deserved so much more out of a partner.

I believe what everyone else believes: Risks are necessary for survival. Every day we choose to walk out of our homes, to engage with the world, is a f*cking risk. Hello?! Have you been present for the last 2.5 plus years? Haven’t you learned that just being alive, especially for those of us belonging to marginalized communities and living in our truths, is a risk?

If you have a story of risk and why, how, when, and where you chose to take it, please share. I’d love to hear your story. And as always, thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy this 30-Day journey with me.

Love, Rah

--

--

Rashidah Bernay

I’m not sure what I’m doing here. I hope to figure that out. Mother. Writer. Creator.