Everything Was Going Well
But Something Was Missing…

Rasikha Writes
3 min readMay 22, 2024

--

(Part 2)

Let me confess

I learned more online than
I did from my university degree!

→Improved my English speaking and writing skills
→Improved my creative and analytical skills
→Improved my communication skills

By preferring skills over a degree
I became able to achieve things
that I didn’t even dream of!

For the first time in my life,

→I realized the power of my thoughts and my words
→I experienced the feeling of earning my first dollar
→I witnessed the happiness on my parent’s face

Everything was going well
But something was missing…

It’s easy to glamorize things
But every picture has two sides

On the one hand,
I was living my dream life
But on the other,
I started feeling missing out

For example, whenever I used to see a
job post demanding a Bachelor’s degree

I really wanted to cry while remembering
my BS degree that I had left halfway

I started feeling isolated,
missing my uni friends,
the days we spent together
and the memories we made

There came a time when I desperately
wanted to go back and continue my studies

But I was afraid that
I wouldn’t manage both
my studies and freelancing

At that time,
I was at war with myself

One was encouraging me to do so
But the other one was holding me back

And finally… there came a day
when I had to make a decision

My Professor called me to decide
whether I want to continue or not

I remember it was 11:30 and she
told me to call her back at 12:00

Otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to
continue my degree ever!

I had 30 minutes to decide,
and a last chance to go back

Found myself in dilemma,
I was feeling so anxious
while staring at the clock

11:35
11:45
11:55

And in the last 5 minutes, I decided
to do something really really absurd

I picked up my pen and
wrote on a piece of paper
“Go Back!”

Then, wrote on the other one
“Don’t Go!”

I folded both pieces of paper,
closed my eyes and reached
out my hand…… to pick “ONE”

I know it sounds crazy
But the moment

I was reaching out my hand
I heard my heart screaming

Please the “Go Back!” one

That’s when I realised what
I really want deep inside

And guess what?

When I opened that piece of paper
It was the first one!
“Go Back!”

Ah, what a relief!

I rushed towards my phone
and told my Professor

that I am going to
continue my BS

Sometimes I wonder, what if
I hadn’t received a call that day

I decided to face my nightmares
instead of running from them

I promised myself

→I would not chase marks
→I would not stress about my GPA
→I would focus more on learning than studying
→I would learn things that will help me in practical life

And finally,
I graduated from university a few months back
while managing both freelancing and studies

It was not easy but I’m glad
I succeeded in doing so

Now I realize,

It is not about getting a degree or skill
It’s about having a learning attitude

Back then,

I was not familiar with
the true definition of learning
Diving into the freelancing world
taught me the real meaning of it

Looking back, I feel grateful
that I took those decisions
and examined my life to
make it worth living!

As Socrates beautifully said,
“The unexamined life is not worth living!”

Originally Published by the author on LinkedIn

--

--

Rasikha Writes

Digital Writer | Talks about Personal Branding, Copywriting and much more