Volunteering for the COVID-19 National Response in the Cayman Islands and Rational Stoic

whitehatStoic
2 min readMay 11, 2020

--

Since March 24th, I have been volunteering in for the Cayman Islands Government’s Emergency travel hotline and I just want to share some of my experiences and realizations.

  • The Cayman Islands is one of the best places to be in this pandemic. The government is accountable and the people cooperate well with the governments actions. I can’t describe my extreme gratitude on how lucky I am to be here at a time where the future is clearly uncertain.
  • Some of the callers seem to do not understand the magnitude of the problem. Sometimes I needed to breakdown that the flights that they are trying to avail are emergency flights and not regular ones. As per my understanding, the magnitude of the situation haven’t sink in to their minds. It’s kind of hard in a way, because many are accustomed to the abundance of options and all in a week things changed, lockdowns are on.
  • The damage to people’s livelihoods are utterly unimaginable. Stories of people needing to go back to their countries due to lack of jobs, I have encountered so much calls of people needing to restart their lives again without any money and have sold their assets just to be able to pay for the flights back to their home country. This have gripped me in a lot of ways. I can’t imagine how much people have mental health problems like stress, anxiety and depression all around the world just because they found themselves in need of the ability to provide in just a week. That prompted me to develop Rational Stoic.

If you or you know someone who is in a bad place, looking for answers.. I hope this medium post reaches you / them. I built Rational Stoic, a learning platform containing my experiences and the methods on how I recovered from losing all of my money in a business I made in 2017 and be able to develop a stronger, much more resilient version me. Everything there is free, hopefully I can finish all of the lessons on how to Embrace Uncertainty within the week.

There is a way, no matter how hard the situation you are in. Let us all do not lose hope.

Check out my project: https://rationalstoic.com

--

--

whitehatStoic
0 Followers

Exploring evolutionary psychology and archetypes, and leveraging gathered insights to create a safety-centric reinforcement learning (RL) method for LLMs