Video

Jordan Raulerson
2 min readSep 30, 2015

--

Body image is socially constructed through the many facets of media. While some people, girls in particular, struggle with it, some do not. Feminist hip hop artist India Arie is an example of one of those women. In her song “Video”, she pushes the boundaries of the sterotypical definition of a socially accepted beautiful girl.

“I’m not the average girl from your video

And I ain’t built like a supermodel”

In the beginning of the song, Arie expresses that she doesn’t look like the “normal” girls that are in music videos. She’s not skinny like a supermodel and she may not be as pretty as them, but she goes on to say that she loves herself no matter what society may or may not think about her. “Video” depicts what the social norms are for girls and Arie tears them apart by being acceptive of what she looks like and how she acts. One of the widely accepted norms she draws attention to in addition to the looks of a supermodel is the thought that beauty relies on your class or wealth, and a way to show that wealth is the clothes you wear. Arie argues that her self worth is not determined by what she wears or the price of those clothes. She goes on to say,

“And I know my creator didn’t make no mistakes on me

My feet, my thighs, my lips, my eyes, I’m loving what I see”

Arie explains that she fully believes that she was made the way she was for a reason. Earlier in the song she states that she had to learn how to love herself, but now she has evolved into being proud and accepting of herself. Arie ends the song with saying she believes that the pressure that society puts on body image needs to be changed; that it is just a misconception and a deception. She expresses that everyone needs to love themselves no matter how they look or how society may perceive them.

--

--