Rawcadia
3 min readFeb 22, 2017

Ever since I remember I have suffered from chronic migraines. I get them about 20 times a month, sometimes even more.

What Causes The Migraines?

Disclaimer: I can not function normally in society when I have migraines. It alters me.

My migraines are not kind, they are excruciating, like an ice pick piercing your brain through your eyes. They come with no warning and no sign. They just spring up on me like an irritating itch and leave for a day, sometimes longer, sometimes in cycles. The pain throbs and throbs, and doesn’t stop. At times I feel like screaming into the atmosphere begging for mercy, i vomit, i talk jibberish, my vision becomes blurred and at other times I just turn off the lights and lay down and rock side to side like a disturbed lunatic. Every sound, no matter how quiet send my migraines into a frenzy. Sometimes I cry, I cry for help, but it doesn’t come, I cry because the pain is so severe that I don’t want to exist anymore in the moment and that is no surprise as the suicide rate is 20 times higher for a migraine sufferer.

There are many reasons why I could be suffering from these migraines. Childhood blabla or AduIt blabla, diet, lifestyle, physical body… I still haven’t pin pointed the cause but I am not ruling it out, it could be all of the above.

My doctor in London doesn’t help. The NHS is free and has been free all my life, I am grateful for this, but it does comes at a cost of not having proper service. My doctor gives my the generic message that I get the migraines due to stress. Believe me, I am not stressed. Well anyway, he still scribbles on a piece of paper that I should go and collect a prescription for the following medications from the pharmacy; Migraleve, Amitriptyline, Codine, and another thing I can’t remember the name of.

The two big Problems with Migraine Prescription Drugs

  1. They do not fully take away the problem
  2. THEY HAVE SIDE EFFECTS such as nausea, feeling low, lack of appetite, dizziness, stomach ache, fatigue…

So… now all the negative stuff is over, let me explain to you how micro-dosing can help with your migraines.

Micro-dosing to cure migraines

ABOUT MICRO-DOSING

Micro-dosing is not about getting high. It it not about hallucinating and tripping because you do not take enough for those effects to kick in. Micro-dosing helps improve a number of conditions including migraines, headaches, anxiety, depression, and even stuttering

THE MUSHROOM

The Psilocybin found in mushrooms is part of the tryptamine drug family which includes the triptans and ergots prescribed for migraine already (imitrex, sumatriptan, ergotamine, etc). It acts on the same receptors as they do and just like the various triptans.

THE DOSE

I would stick to 0.2–0.8 grams. This amount equates up to 2–4 mushroom caps.

Some people take a dose daily, some take a few doses a week and then wait a week of two before taking more. It is important that you find your sweet spot, do what works for you and your health. So I highly recommend starting at 0.2 and increasing the dosage by 0.1g if you do not feel the beneficial effect. Play around with your doses as the potency of the shrooms will vary. Be very aware that as you may decide to increase your intake there is a fine line to balancing that would make a huge difference, like the difference between a grain of sand and an entire galaxy, like the difference between Japanese original superheros and the American Hollywood spin offs.

TIPS TO MICRODOSING

Use scales

I recommend grinding the mushroom caps with a coffee grinder of equivalent. Of course you can simply eat the caps once you’ve weighed them

After grinding the mushrooms it helps to place them in a gel capsule or you can consume the contents from a spoon

Er on the side of caution. Don’t over do it in a single dosing — the purpose is medicinal, not recreational.

The post Micro Dosing Psilocybin (Shrooms) To Cure My Chronic Migraines appeared first on Cel In A Sky.

Originally published on Wordpress