Plant based lifestyle: my sentimental why and my how

Georgiana White
5 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Beets, Swiss chard, cheese, orange supremes, by Georgiana White
By Georgiana White

Almost 13 years ago I chose the plant based lifestyle over the standard diet. I have to say, it was an immediate decision for me. I had no idea how to cook, what to eat, or in what way it would change my life, but I did it because of my promise to my lovely dog Taffy who happened to loose in a terrific accident. This incident was sad and terrific. It made me so angry but also made me realize that we do so much harm and I had to stop it, at least through my own actions, and start making a difference.

Starting a new rutine: salad everyday

Next day I started to bring my own food at the office. It was a very basic salad with a piece of bread because this was the only thing I knew to make. After a while, my coworkers began teasing me about my everyday salad menu. They jokingly asked when I would become bored of salads, implying that a diet consisting solely of salads would be monotonous and unappealing. What they didn’t know is that, making salads was an important step towards learning more about cooking and becoming so good at preparing plant based foods.

A book can change your life

Then I received The Enzyme Factor book written by the very famous Japanese surgeon Hiromi Shinya. I read in few hours and changed my life completely. The message I got was that, everything we put in our bodies affects our microbiome which is where health or sickness starts depending mainly on what we eat. And then I started to question more, learn more, kept reading and kept trying to prepare my own food in a more conscious way.

I went to Hippocrates Health Institute

On a detox retreat, I loved the idea of teaching others about healthy foods and this lifestyle. I asked my mentor what can I do in order to be able to run retreats and teach others about what a plant based life style can do to the body. I signed up, and I booked my ticket to Florida. I stayed on the campus for 9 weeks, learned as much as possible, got certified, fall in love, and a new life began for me. The most powerful thing I learned there was “food is the medicine.” Think about, we eat at least three times in a day, if not more, and every time we make decisions about the food we eat, is going to be medicine or otherwise. It is in our hands to make the right decision. I am not saying that food is everything, or is the only reason why someone is healthy or sick, but I am saying that it is a big piece of the puzzle that I have control over everytime I eat.

Moved to Florida

Tim and I decided we want to live together and I moved from Romania to Florida with him. He was living the same lifestyle already and together was nothing but better every single day. We started a business together, Raw Living Spirulina, hosted about 12 retreats so far, and I could not be any happier with my accomplishments.

I became a chef

Being away from my family pushed me a step forward to learn more about food preparation. I had no idea how to prepare anything more than a simple salad and probably bake some vegetables. Food around me was not the same food I was used to have back home. Not so healthy, and not so tasty. So, I had to figure out ways to make my own. I think it was in me, like an undiscovered unique skill, most likely gifted to me from my mom and my grandfather who happened to be a chef. Little by little I started to show up in the kitchen and make the most delicious dishes. I learned that I can make foods that taste great and are healthy at the same time.

I discovered the food of the future

I have trained by the famous chef Matthew Kenney where I learned new techniques, new ways of making food look good, taste great, and be healthy. Matthew says that “our goal is to inspire and help others utilize their own geographical and cultural influences to create plant-based food suited to their own locations. As more chefs embrace this way of living and show diners how brilliantly obvious it is to cook and eat this way, the global food paradigm will shift.” I can proudly say that I absorbed everything I could to learn about plant-based cuisine, and its benefits on human body, and on the Mother Planet. Today, I am making dishes to inspire, enjoy, and feel no guilty when consumed. This, for me is transformative, and in complete alignment with my choices, and my promise to my little boy Taffy. This is my why and my how.

Beets, Swiss chard, Cheese, Orange Supremes

Beet salad

10 small beets, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 Tbs cherry vinegar, 1 orange juice and zest.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Wash the beets under cool, running water, and pat dry. Lightly coat them with olive oil, salt, sherry vinegar, orange juice, and orange zest. Place the beets in a roasting dish and bake until there is no resistance when the beets are pierced with a knife which will take about 45 minutes to an hour. Once beets are finished cooking, remove from the oven and let them cool down enough so that you can handle to peel off the skin. Use a kitchen towel to easy peel off the outer skin, cut in four, and set aside.

Swiss Chard Sauce

1 shallot, diced; A handful of Swiss Chards, finely chopped; 1 Tbs olive oil, 1 orange juice, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp brown sugar.

In a large sauté pan heat the oil over medium heat. Add the shallot and sauté till translucent. Add the Swiss chard stems first with orange juice, salt, and sugar and cook gently, stirring until just tender, about 8 to 10 minutes. Add in the Swiss chard greens, reduce the heat to low and cook gently until the stems and leafs are tender and about 90 percent of the liquid is cooked off, 20 to 30 minutes. Transfer to a plate and let cool to room temperature. When cold, transfer to a blender and pure together with 2 of the roasted beets, and juice of half orange. Taste and adjust the seasonings.

To serve

Arrange the pure on the bottom of the plate by using a spoon. Add the sliced beets, add thinly sliced vegan cheese on top, add some orange supremes, and finish with some parley leafs, orange juice, and orange zest.

Please enjoy and let me know how you like if you make this recipe.

--

--

Georgiana White

Plant based chef, co-founder of Raw Living Spirulina, and a great dog lover.