What’s a vision?

Ray Engan
2 min readNov 1, 2023

What’s your Why?

What makes it all worthwhile?

These are questions I always hated. I never had the answer, and I never had the reasons behind them. I didn’t have kids, could always figure out a way to make a little money. Maybe I never really wanted to look in the mirror and see what others could see about myself.

What makes you want to go on? Those with vision are leading everyone else that have no vision. THis includes people who don’t understand their vision. This included me.

I became obsessed with homeless people. Not all of them, the ones with the innovative ways to collect money. The signs that caught my eye.

“Seeking Venture Capital”

“This IS my GoFundMe Page”

“All I got for Xmas is YOUR 2 Cents”

They had more control over what they were doing than I did. When you are admiring the life of homeless people, that is major imposter syndrome.

I had risen to the upper echelon of a few industries. Had a couple of great relationships, a couple of bad ones. To the outer world I was a success, but to the inner world, I never really understood the reason to keep going. I kept going on.

I Looked at the things I had overcome…Maybe there was a key to my vision there. I went from shy to being able to talk to anyone in the world . I helped people without charisma develop the best version of themselves. I could lift up any room I walked into. I could sell just…

--

--

Ray Engan

Chief Charisma officer @ LeadershipTHrough Laughter. Inventor of the Humor Algorithm. Creator of the Lean In Factor. THE authority on influential humor