A Winter Month with Florida Wildlife

Ray Hennessy
2 min readMar 31, 2016

--

I arrived in Sebastian Florida on January 1 with my wife and our cat. This was the start of our 5 week vacation in Florida that would provide me with some of the best wildlife photography of my life. I hope you will join me on this multi-part series as I tell you about my wildlife photography experiences from the amazing 5 week trip visiting many different locations throughout eastern and western central Florida. Below is an interactive map showing the locations where I took all of the photos during my trip.

January 4 ~ Grebes and Ducks at Riverview Park ~ Sebastian, FL
January 9 ~ Pelican Island National Wildlife Refuge and Sebastian Inlet State Park ~ Vero Beach, FL
January 11 ~ Judah & Son Fish Market ~ Sebastian, FL
January 16 ~ Belted Kingfisher ~ Sebastian, FL
January 18 ~ Scrub Jays ~ Sebastian, FL
January 20 ~ Viera Wetlands ~ Viera, FL
January 21 ~ LK Hardee Park, Indian River Boat Trip, and Indian River Nightscapes ~ Sebastian, FL
January 24, morning ~ Green Cay Wetlands ~ Boynton Beach, FL
January 24, evening ~ Peaceful Waters Sanctuary ~ Wellington, FL
January 25–30 ~ Stick Marsh ~ Fellsmere, FL ~ also around Cape Coral, FL
January 31 ~ Bunche Beach Preserve ~ Fort Myers Beach, FL
February 1 ~ Burrowing Owls ~ Cape Coral, FL
February 3 ~ Flamingo at Bunche Beach Preserve ~ Fort Myers Beach, FL
February 5 ~ Corkscrew Swamp ~ Naples, FL

--

--