my almost

R
2 min readMay 18, 2024

--

normal people (2020)

It’s very ironic how a situationship break up hurts more than an actual relationship break up. I think one of the reasons why is that we still cling on the idea of what could have been if it really happened between us.

The thing I hate most about love is both starting and ending. Having your heart unoccupied for years and finally, you found someone who fills the void in you in a very unique way possible.

Next thing you know, they’ve become your daily journal whom you tell every detail of your day and every emotions you feel. But even after getting to know everything about each other, it just, ended.

Of course, the questions hit you hardest especially when it hadn’t went that far to call it a relationship. “ What if I hadn’t done this “ or “ I should have done better “.

almost is never enough

The days you have after them would be filled with nothing but sorrow. You’ll feel empty as they have become your go-to-place for basically everything.

I have always been so full of love. I would pour my all to a chosen someone. But I lost you, so tell me, where should I share all that i am to now ?

To say love is dead is something i wouldn’t agree because of the way I love. I guess our paths are meant to cross and separate again in the end, instead of becoming one.

You were my almost and we almost had it all.

We both don’t know what the future holds, but for now, let’s become strangers again. We were once strangers and I’m afraid we’ll have to be one again.

I wouldn’t say I’ll wait for you, but I’ll always save a seat for you at every table. I’d pick up your calls even after months of not talking. I’d visit your town just in hopes I’d bump into you by some chance.

It is quite hard to accept that we have to close this chapter of ours, without even having a proper starting. Or perhaps, our story is meant to be the one I would fold up the page to get back to it again. Either way, accepting the fact that we’re no longer trying to hold on is what keeps me up at night.

I’m not letting you go, but I’m not holding on to you. The door isn’t opened, but it’s unlocked. And even if you’ll go out of the door, you’d be the one who has the key to it, always.

-R.D

--

--