Rayne Johnson
2 min readJul 29, 2023

I hope I found love just like my mom and dad or even more better.

I could remember the last time my mom told me her love story… Daddy and I met in the fifth grade. We lived one street apart and rode our bikes home from school together. Until, one day, he told me he liked me, and I stopped talking to him. Over the years, we shared classes, passed in the halls at school, knew the same people, but we never spent time together outside of school and certainly never dated. After high school, we went to separate parts of the country and began building our futures. When it was time for our ten-year high school reunion, neither of us planned to go. Our best friends insisted and each played a role in making it happen. At the reunion, I saw Daddy across a crowded room and did not recognize him. I assumed he was there with one of my classmates -- a boyfriend, a husband, maybe. Then I saw his name tag, and could not believe my eyes. We were inseparable that weekend and a spark was ignited. Within one week we were making plans to visit each other. Within a few weeks we were planning our future. Ten weeks later, we were engaged. Ten months later, we were married. Now, nearly fifteen years later, we are more deeply in love than ever. Our love has created two beautiful daughters who give our lives new depth and meaning. Your Daddy shows me every single day that there is nothing more important to him than the two of you and me. He is "romantic" in the traditional sense, but what I love and appreciate most is the mundane, every day things. Like the way he can’t wait to teach you something new when you ask a question. Or the way he makes you laugh just by being silly. The way he fills and empties the dishwasher, cooks dinner, picks up after himself, takes out the trash, and so many other things without question, complaint or request. The way he supports my career, my interests, my activities and me with all that he is. The way he still makes me feel physically beautiful despite the passage of time. I hope that you will each find love and friendship as amazing and wonderful as what Daddy and I have. It makes all the difference in the world.

Rayne Johnson

If I'm not singing song I' m most likely chasing 🇺🇸