8 Natural Allergy Relief Remedies (Get Rid of Allergies Forever)

Ray Veguilla
8 min readMar 4, 2018

--

I think you’ll agree with me when I say:

It’s not easy to stop bad allergies.

I suffered through years of uncomfortable symptoms before I found natural allergy relief methods.

Here is the truth:

You can get rid of allergies naturally without medicine. Millions of people with allergies unnecessarily suffer when home allergy relief remedies can easily fix the problem.

Even permanent relief!

Here are my eight most effective all natural relief remedies that helped me get rid of my allergies forever.

Additionally, I will include the science behind allergies and my lifestyle habits that help to keep myself allergy free.

The science behind allergies:

Simply put:

Allergies are a reaction to something not right within your body.

What is problem?

The core issue is a weak immune system.

A person with a weak immune system is unable to fully fight off allergens with its own defenses. This leads to the body reacting with the release of histamines which lead to allergy symptoms.

Medication can offer quick fixes to allergy symptoms, however they do fix the problem of a weak immune system.

Why can medications be bad?

In many cases, medications can either weaken your immune system or make your allergies worse long-term while taking your hard-earned money.

Some negative facts on medications regarding allergies: • Fight the symptom, not the cause so you must keep buying medicines. • Can weaken the immune system. • Can cause imbalances in body PH causing a horde of issues.

• Can kill off good bacteria (probiotics) in the gut.

Why all natural?

By fortifying the body’s defenses against allergens natural remedies have the power to get rid of allergies forever.

My top eight all natural allergy relief remedies reinforce the immune system to fight allergens.

Using natural cures allows you to avoid negative effects of medication while saving you money. There are also few side effects associated with natural allergy cures.

Taking care of ourselves naturally gives the body what it needs to repair itself. This brings back balance so your body can fight off the allergies efficiently.

Here Are My Top 8 All Natural Allergy Relief Remedies:

1. Raw Organic Honey

Raw honey contains bee pollen.

Bee pollen is known to ward off allergies and boost immunity. By consuming raw honey people become less-sensitive to plant pollen which is one of the main allergens that affect people.

Be careful:

You must be cautious though. Many honey brands only contain a small percentage of real honey and have been heated which destroys most of the pollen. I recommend finding a raw organic local hone seller.

Added benefit of local honey:
Consuming raw organic local honey is the best way to fight off allergies especially for the area in which you live.

How I use:

I use a local organic honey from a farm near me. I will take a tablespoon of the honey about an hour before I go to bed. I usually drink the honey mixed into a cold herbal tea or I will eat it right off the spoon.

2. Apple Cider Vinegar

Apple cider vinegar is a godsend for a multitude of health issues.

This is by far my favorite allergy relief method.

Apple cider vinegar can reduce mucous production and cleanse the lymphatic system.

A clean lymphatic system allows the body’s immune system to fight off current allergens instead of focusing on old allergens that are trapped. A clogged lymph system causes chronic allergies which I experienced for years.

Most effective approach:
Bragg’s organic raw unfiltered and unpasteurized “with the mother” apple cider vinegar is the standard for healing. “With the mother” is important because it is beneficial bacteria.

How I use:

I take one teaspoon of ACV every night with my herbal tea and honey. Sometimes in the morning before breakfast, I will have a teaspoon in water or tea. If I am sick I consume about three teaspoons throughout the day.

3. Probiotics

Beneficial bacteria in the gut is related to a reduced occurrence of allergies.

80 percent of a person’s immune system is in the digestive tract.

Probiotics change the balance of good and bad bacteria in the intestines. This helps guard the immune system against a bad response to allergens.

In the United States, there is a major probiotic problem.

Medicine, most notably, antibiotics destroy probiotics within the body. Along with this, non-organic foods can destroy beneficial probiotics in the gut due to the use of pesticides.

Most effective approach:

All natural probiotic supplementation and regular consumption of organic probiotic-rich foods.

Opt for organic probiotic-rich foods including like:

• Yogurt/Raw cheese • Kefir • Sauerkraut • Kimchi • Pickles • Microalgae • Kombucha

(There are many more)

What I do:

I regularly add probiotics to my diet. One thing I do is keep a jar of organic sauerkraut in the refrigerator and eat a little bit every day. I also love raw cheeses and eat them almost every day with my dinner or as a snack. Furthermore, I have a protein powder, super green powder and vitamin supplement that all contain probiotics.

4. Garlic

Garlic is an anti-histamine superfood that works as a powerhouse in the fight against allergies. It helps the immune system by attacking allergens and helping to remove them from the body naturally.

Garlic contains antioxidants and healing oils that help the immune system to fight against histamine.

Garlic can help get rid of allergic reactions like sneezing or an itchy throat and more while safeguarding the body from future allergic reactions.

Most effective approach:

Consuming uncooked raw organic garlic is the most effective way to gain the most benefit to fight allergies.

What I do:

For maximum effectiveness — I would recommend mincing about two uncooked cloves of garlic and mixing with raw organic honey for a fast-acting relief against allergies.

Uncooked and raw is the best way to consume garlic for allergies, although I do cook with it. Dried organic garlic chopped up is a tasty addition to almost any meal.

5. Lemon

Lemons are packed with vitamin C which is needed by immunity cells.

Strong levels of Vitamin C can boost the immune system. Also, lemons are loaded with antioxidants which can help fight off allergic reactions.

Lemons can also help with lymph function and hydration. Another key benefit of lemons is helping to balance the PH level in the body. A balanced alkaline PH is a key to proper immune function.

Most effective approach:
Drinking lemon juice is great for allergy relief.

What I do:

I add lemon juice to warm water in the morning. Usually, I squeeze half of a lemon in water and drink it in the morning.

I also use lemon while cooking. Sometimes I will even put some lemon juice in tea.

6. Turmeric

Turmeric contains curcumin. Curcumin acts as a natural decongestant. Turmeric also acts as a powerful anti-histamine which helps reduce histamine release.

Also, turmeric has anti-inflammatory properties. One key anti-inflammatory property is that turmeric acts as a leukotriene inhibitor which is related to allergy induced asthma problems.

Most effective approach:
Turmeric is sold in powder like a spice or you can buy the root and make it into powder yourself.

Be careful:

If you do use the spice try to find the organic non-irradiated spice. Irradiation can degrade the benefits of the turmeric.

What I do:

I have an organic non-irradiated turmeric spice.

Ways I use turmeric:

  • vegetable stir-fry
  • in tea
  • with chicken or fish.

7. Quercetin

Quercetin is naturally found in cruciferous vegetables like broccoli and citrus foods like oranges.

Quercetin is a natural bioflavonoid herb that helps to stabilize cells and helps to prevent the release of histamine. In addition, quercetin is an antioxidant that can help allergy-related inflammation.

However, foods generally do not contain enough quercetin to relieve allergies from the foods alone with just the quercetin in them.

Because of this people take quercetin supplements to get enough of it to stop allergies.

Most effective approach:
A quercetin supplement.

What I do:
I do not take a quercetin supplement. However, I consume a lot of cruciferous and citrus vegetables every day so I do intake small levels of quercetin.

8. Nasal Irrigation (Neti Pot)

Nasal irrigation is the process of flushing out the nasal cavity.

You take a warm saline solution and drain it through a nostril and then drain the solution out of the other nostril. Commonly used for this is a “neti pot”.

A Neti pots allow the user to easier breathe through their nose easier because the solution flushes out irritants and thins out mucus. This typically leads to less congestion and milder allergies.

Tiny, hair structures called cilia line the nasal cavity. Cilia functions to get mucus out of the nose. Nasal irrigation helps cilia work efficiently to get rid of unwanted allergens in the nasal cavity.

A good neti pot solution includes:

1. Water — Distilled, sterile, tap water that has been boiled for 3–5 minutes
2. Salt — A pre-made solution or quarter to half a teaspoon of non-iodized salt with a small pinch of baking soda if you want. It is recommended to use sea or kosher salt.

What I do:

When I use the neti pot the instant relief of allergies is simply incredible. Short-term the neti-pot stops my allegies completely. I have not used a neti pot for quite some time, although I will if my allergies ever flare up again.

That’s not all:

The struggle against allergies does not end with those effective relief remedies. They are key to fixing an allergy problem, although many other things in life can help.

Additional things that I do to help with allergies include:

• Air filter in the room where I sleep • Exercise frequently • I will not eat processed, Genetically modified, or non-organic foods • Drink about a gallon of water per day • Nighttime cold tea usually with lemon, apple cider vinegar, and Raw honey

• Whole-food organic vitamin

The hardest experience for me was the drastic diet change. In today’s America eating all organic and non-processed is tough. Becoming allergy free is no easy task with the toxic and allergy-inducing food surrounding us.

However, I believe that anyone with the ambition to combine many of my tips together they can take control of their diet too and get rid of my allergies forever! Anyone can do it.

Thank you for reading my Natural Allergy Relief Remedies.

If you found this article useful or if you know of a friend that needs help with an allergy problem please share this article. Also, if you have any questions or want to tell me what your favorite allergy relief remedy is, please comment bellow!

Sources: (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)

Originally published at thinkbigfit.com on March 4, 2018.

If you liked this article check out Think Big Fit and subscribe to the newsletter!

P.S. Don’t forget to clap and follow me on medium.

--

--