Thursday Thoughts on Color

R.B. O'Brien
2 min readNov 9, 2017

--

You know when people ask you: What is your favorite color? And at first, you think it’s such a silly or simple question. But is it? I don’t think so, because it begs the question of why. Why has it come to be your favorite color? We wouldn’t have one if it didn’t speak to a part of who we are. Sometimes, it’s the simplest questions that shed the most light.

So I ask you: What is your favorite color? Why?

For me, I have two, but I’ll focus on the one that gets the most guff. When someone asks me that question, immediately, I say, “Pink.” And immediately people think: What a girl! Yes. And no. Pink reminds me of my love for dance. My youth. The innocence of being young. Tutus. Strawberry frosting on a vanilla cake (my favorite). And lipstick. I love lipstick. It also reminds me that I should take pride in my feminine traits, in being a woman. There is nothing remotely wrong with enjoying femininity. Curves. Hips. Lips. Empathy. Vulnerability. Sensuality. Patience. Intuition.​

But even beyond all that? Remember the kid books: Pinkalicious? The brother loved pink but hid it? That. That is why I also love pink. We need to take pink back. It’s not a bad thing. And it shouldn’t mean “girly.” And boys who like it shouldn’t be labeled as inferior. “Stop acting like a girl” pisses me off. Pink is a damn pretty color. Ever see a pink sunrise? Coral in the sand? How about cherry blossoms? Or Rose Champagne? A pink rose? Or a pearl? Exactly.

And that, my friends, is my thought for the day. #ThursdayThoughts

Originally published at rbobrien.weebly.com.

--

--

R.B. O'Brien

Writer, blogger, poet, & founding member of The Nu Romantics. On a journey to self-discovery. Author of Edge of Torment, Thorne, & Imogen. Ruin My Lipstick.