How Large Should a Village Be?

Searching for a place where the world would like to live

Russell Salsbury
5 min readFeb 3, 2023
Styalized Village
A village, image by Prawny from Pixabay

We as a nation and a planet are searching for physical places to live that fulfills our basic needs, including security and quality of life.

I’ll prime the pump, and then I’ll ask you to add your comments and experiences. I started a family with 3 children in a post WWII 1200 sq ft 3-bedroom house. The previous owner had opened up the small dining room in the front corner to the kitchen on one side and the living room on an adjacent side, making it feel much roomier. My wife and I now live in a 3800 sq ft house that is much too large for us.

Blue Hill, Maine, by A Scheibner courtesy of the Island Institue (non-commercial use)

I grew up in Blue Hill, Maine, a town of 1500 in the winter and 6000 in the summer. Most of the summer people had been residents for decades and were very supportive of the town. The town had the necessary support services and businesses: fire department, hospital, three grocery stores, but none rose to the level of supermarket. Supermarkets were not common in the 50s. I think it had only one restaurant that was a gathering spot for morning coffee. You went there because you were hungry, not for a culinary adventure.

--

--

Russell Salsbury

Top writer | Harvard Economics BA | Software Developer | Future | Politics | Forment Revolutions | I will not go quietly.