Soul Searching Meets Learning

A tiny reflection for the past few months

Richard Darsono
2 min readApr 23, 2018
Photo by Ashley Batz on Unsplash

I love the act of learning. It is a beautiful process.

To me, learning is not limited to books and lectures. It is not always about the tangible and the quantifiable.

Sometimes, it is a compilation of abstract thoughts.

Sometimes, it involves embarrassment and failures.

Sometimes, it is a series of serendipitous events formed by curiosity and drive.

Learning should be challenging, and of course, rewarding at the same time. And, my proposition is that before you can ‘learn’ about anything, you have to understand who you really are.

Since graduating college, I have learned that it is important to have a solid understanding of ‘who you are’. This can range from finding out your internal and external motivations, personal values, and personality type.

I am a big believer that every one should live authentically and live up to his or her maximum potential.

I am happy that I have finally figured out what my North Star is. I am driven by impact, and I have the conviction that I am going to somehow end up collaborating with people who are motivated by a similar drive.

However, my journey does not come easy. And, I know it should not be easy.

Some common hurdles that I have encountered are:

  1. ‘Second-guessing’

You know when…You are just starting out and do not have a ton of experiences. It is very easy for you to be doubtful of your own dreams and ambitions. Your closest companions may even label you as being too ‘idealistic.’ It is okay.

2. ‘The grass is always greener on the other side’

You know when…You see your friends’ posts on social media or hear stories about people. In this day and age, it is easy to have a glance at other people’s lives without actually discerning the facts. You may lose focus. You may be distracted. It is normal.

3. ‘Predictable Irrationality’

You know when…You said you wanna do it, but you didn’t. Behavioral economists say that humans tend to be irrational. And, it is true — I am the victim of my irrational side. Results: time and potential opportunities wasted.

I think the key to nail this part is to be more present and mindful. I personally find exercising, meditation, journal writing, and the habit of setting a hard-schedule to be helpful!

Anyway, thanks for reading! I am experimenting with a new type of content.

As always, I would love to hear stories from my readers. I would be keen to link up — comment below or send me a message on LinkedIn.

--

--

Richard Darsono

Googler, fomerly Gojek and Kiva | Tech | Entrepreneurship | Social Impact