Positivity Day #2

Letting my Pulke’s out!

Rachel Kleban
1 min readJun 19, 2013

The Yiddish word for a chicken leg is Pulke. Jewish grandmas always use this word to describe those cute fat baby legs. I personally never outgrew my Pulke’s and have always contented that I have “fat knees,” though objectively speaking I don’t think knees can actually be fat.

My fat knee syndrome has prevented me from embracing the boots-and-dress-but-no-tights look, because the boots and the hem of the skirt frame one’s knees in just the right way to make me wince each time I walk by a mirror. But today, in the ultimate show of self love and positivity, decided to embrace my knees and rock the coveted look.

Turns out a little confidence and positivity goes a long way. I strutted around the office in my sassy outfit and let the world see what Jewish Grandma’s have always known - That Pulke’s are delicious and particularly adorable when framed by cute boots and a fun little dress.

--

--