(Re)Entered — (Re)Discovered me

Brihu Padmanabhan
3 min readAug 24, 2021

--

(Re)Entered — (Re)Discovered me
If one were to ask me what my favorite quote was, I would spontaneously say “If I am not for myself who will be for me”. What it took me to actually come to terms with those words, was a great deal of self-realization and Reentry.
I was always a very athletic kid growing up, put my hand up, and got on every sports team right from early school to Undergrad days. Then came a time where education had to take priority (masters), I still was lifting weights and spending some time at the fitness center but I have to admit I wasn’t as diligent as I would have liked. Playing cricket with friends was the only kind of physical activity that I was involved in. Eating a lot of food did not help the cause either. I grew big in no time. From 140 lbs to 210 lbs in a matter of 6 months was just crazy and what was even crazier( thinking of it now) was the fact that I enjoyed being big.
I was joked at as the sumo wrestler who played cricket when I was first joined my job. I then moved to the US in 2005 things only got from bad to worse. I just succumbed to Gluttony so say the least. And this one day just this one day Super Size Me happened. A friend suggested it and I ended up watching it. And that was the kick in the butt that pushed me towards my re-entry. Reentry into a better lifestyle, Reentry into disciplined eating habits, Reentry of the younger, fitter, stronger, on the whole Reentry of the better me. From then on there was no stopping. Each day gave me more confidence, self-belief, patience, kindness, smiles, and fulfillment.
Every day was hard work but that’s what made each day fruitful and fascinating. People started to look up to me so I started my blog, wrote motivational songs volunteered, and helped people who were staring at the same roadblocks I had faced. Now, after15 years and 10,000 miles of running I feel supremely fit and strong. And I fully understand that there are certain things in this world, the most important things, that we cannot rely on anyone else. We have to make the effort to keep progressing. Hence the quote “If I am not for myself who will be for me”.
In these tough times, being healthy will do a world of good to ourselves and our families, and our communities. I try to spread love, goodness and hope everywhere I go and to everyone I meet. I keep telling them, “if I can do this anyone can”. Life is a journey, not a destination so let us stay true to ourselves with more emphasis on the process and not on results. It is never late to make an Entry or a Reentry to discover a healthy happy self.

So let us finish this with something to kindle those muscles and bones to start moving.

Workout Anthem

It's gotta be Intense, Its gotta make you sweat !!

The best form of penance, none compares, you bet !!

Strengthen the mind, liberate the soul

Body and mind, under your control .

Develop an interest, enjoy the pain,

Fitter to Fittest, it’s no pain all gain.

Cherish the intent, feel the high,

Never be content, never say die.

Spread the word motivate each other,

You’ll never be bored cos you've got one another.

2003 and 2017
2021

--

--