Me, You and the Ghosts

RAW
3 min readApr 15, 2022

Abstract map series of black historical settlements and sacred sites across Canada

“It isn’t easy being a ghost…people are scared of you or they don’t believe in you…” Rogers Commercial

These works represent fragments in claiming and reclaiming the voice which is fundamental to my art practice. I also speak on behalf of the silenced
voices of the dead; Canada’s African pioneers via my excavation of their hidden history.

Three days before taking down my exhibit that was on display at Birds and Beans Coffee House and Roastery in South Etobicoke, Ontario (October 17th to November 17th 2005), Madeleine (the owner) said she had some interesting news for me. After seeing my piece Ode to Africville a customer turned to her and said, “Africville? My family is from there …” The man’s father is Joe Sealy, a jazz musician who won a Juno Award (Canadian version of a Grammy) for Best Contemporary Jazz Album for his record Africville Suite which coincidentally happened to be one of the cd’s playing during the opening of my exhibit.

Africville, Nova Scotia
Africville was located in the north end of Halifax. Initially, the community was settled by the black refugees of the War of 1812 before Canada’s Confederation in 1867.

Ode to Africville
(acrylic on canvas 24x28, 2005)

--

--

RAW

A Piscean, Centennial baby giving ‘real and wise’ opinions about all things personal, spiritual, and philosophical including anti-black racism and mental health