How I Went From 230 lbs to 170

Calm and Collected
3 min readJul 27, 2017
Before and After

My “weight-loss journey” started a year ago. I had just gotten out of a relationship and quit my job.

I was ready to start living how I wanted. After my two weeks notice was up I got to hustling.

I finally reached a point where I was comfortable money wise and so I decided I should focus my extra energy towards weight-loss.

To be honest I never really did a lot of research. I just used common sense, how I felt, and then Google if I had a specific question.

Now that I’m at 170 lbs and wanting to build muscle I’ve went to a expert. I’m combing his knowledge with my own philosophy.

Keeping it Simple

I’m all about keeping it simple. When I first started dieting I followed the no carb diet. Within a few weeks I had dropped from 230 to 224 lbs.

In another article I will go into more detail but for the time being use my diet below. Don’t overthink it.

What to Eat

Most people know what they need to it. They just want validation and so here is what I ate/drank to drop from 230 lbs to 170 lbs.

  • Chicken
  • Broccoli
  • Eggs
  • Protein Powder
  • Coffee
  • Water

To read more about my diet in detail click here.

What Kinds of Workouts Did I Do

My workouts were simple. I worked out 5 times a week and hit specific muscle groups on each of the days.

I did the usual: bench-press, curls, and pull-ups. I never did much running although my workouts were great cardio.

To warm up I began with a 30 minute walk. This believe it or not is effective and great for losing weight.

By the time I hit the weights I was ready to hit them hard.

Develop the Habit of Being Healthy

The biggest change that I made was that I made it a habit to be healthy. In other words health became a normal part of my lifestyle.

I learned the basics about protein (super important!), fat (helps with testosterone+more), and carbs.

From there I made it normal for me to not eat candy or eat much fast-food. Luckily I didn’t like sodas before so completely removing them wasn’t an issue.

Belief

Now that you have the habit of being healthy you need to believe in yourself. If you don’t have your mind right then you for sure want get your body right.

Give meditating a try. It works great for training your mind and for overall peace of mind.

Thank you for reading this post. Losing weight is something that people overthink. If you’re one of those remember what you learned in this quick article. Keep it simple and then focus on it day by day.

We will talk again soon.

Dylan Madden

Check out my main blog here.

Get on my official newsletter.

--

--

Calm and Collected

Calm and Collected is the blog of Dylan Madden. He is also the co-founder of Sites Delight. Medium is where he posts old and extra content.