The optics of research: Siva Shakthi A hosts Real Scientists

Real Scientists
5 min readAug 1, 2021

--

Real Scientists is delighted to welcome Siva Shakthi A, a doctoral researcher at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research in Thiruvananthapuram to the account this week. We chatted to her about her life and work so far:

Welcome to Real Scientists! Can you tell us how you got into science?
As a kid, I was interested in volcanoes. I would keep newspaper titbits whenever there was news about an eruption. I still have those titbits with me. So Japan was my place of choice and as I grew up, I wanted to study volcanology based on an interview of a volcanologist on National Geographic or Discovery channel. At the same time, I was member at a local library which had old volumes of National Geographic magazines. I loved reading the articles on different volcanoes, but Japan was out of reach for me. As time went on, I started reading about other branches of science as well. Two subjects that appealed to me the most were zoology and physics. Specifically human physiology and optics. I was in class eleven when I decided that I would opt for one of these courses when I finish schooling. I applied for both the courses and got admission for both. But geosciences pushed me an inch further into opting for Physics. Well, if there is a chance, I want to study human physiology and neuroscience as well. I mean, there is no end to Science, it is interdisciplinary and the more you read, the more you get interested in new topics. That is the aspect of Science which appeals to me the most.

Siva Shakthi A

How did you get fully into optics?
By the time I was in my second year of under graduation at Women’s Christian College in Chennai, I developed an interest in Optics. In second year, my Optics prof had asked us to read about the history of Optics and gave us a quiz. Since I already had an inclination towards Optics, I jumped into studying for the quiz. I liked the stories of how scientists built up the basis of Optics. The whole semester, I had fun reading more about Optics. More than the principles, I was interested in reading about telescopes, binoculars, and such instruments. Somehow the curiosity still continued. I had two very good friends who were also interested in science and they exposed me to new aspects of science. That is very important to remain in science — the environment. They still keep me going. Following that, I went to specialize in Laser Science for my Masters at Pondicherry University and worked on both theoretical and experimental Optics. I had good professors at the University. My supervisor is no more now but he shaped most of what I am today. In 2014, I joined as a Ph.D. student at the School of Physics, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram (IISER TVM). I work at the PHONON lab and again, a great PI keeps you going. So, that is what is going on now along with some good friends. Long story short, I was curious but that was backed by a set of good friends and professors.

Brilliant! What does your research involve?
I work on the fundamental and applied aspects of a field called Microwave Photonics. The field is amalgamation of Photonics and microwave engineering. Decades ago, instruments in RADAR, and satellites employed filters that suppress unnecessary signals from necessary ones in communication. These filters were bulky, prone to loss, and expensive. With the advent of microwave photonics, things have taken a turn. We have chip sized versions of filters which are much more efficient. Several groups all around the world are working on creating such filters and we, too, work on that. The difference is that each group employs a different principle to do that. Ours rely on a type of scattering process in optical fibres. The process is called stimulated Brillouin scattering which was initially considered detrimental in communication. However, with the advancement of technology, the potential of this scattering process is tapped efficiently. The process is essentially an interaction between strong light and any media. We have developed filters which are no more prone to loss, a sought after requirement to put them into use effectively.

What do you want the public to know about your research?
It is important and necessary to care about because we live in an era of communication and hence it is always worthy to understand what are the different aspects of communication and how the field took shape. While it may not be of direct help, I think the story is quite exciting in itself. If you have high speed internet today, it is because of such principles and devices. So why not learn more about it!

Siva Shakthi A

What do you get up to when you’re not in the lab?
I founded the No Nonsense Science Club — an initiative to debunk myths and misinformation in science. The content is available in English and 9 Indian languages. Debunking myths and misinformation is the need of the hour. Especially, right now. Fake news about COVID keep making rounds and I think being a scientist is not just lab work, one has to step out, look at the community, and educate people. In IISER, I also founded the Optical Society of America Student Chapter where I served as president and outreach officer. The duties of the club included conducting outreach programmes for schools and colleges nearby the institute.

I draw and paint. I experiment with different media. My recent hobby is to study the folk arts of India which are becoming extinct. For now, I practise Kerala murals and Warli arts. I also play Ukelele, and Kalimba — a recent favourite. The thing is I don’t stick with one hobby. I keep hopping from one to another. But I like that!

Finally, what does your perfect day off look like?
I mostly read and go for short drive if possible wither with friends or family. Yeah, that is pretty much it. I don’t do much. I just want to relax with minimal things to do.

Siva Shakthi A, welcome to Real Scientists!

--

--

Real Scientists

Real science from real scientists, writers, communicators, artists & clinicians. A different curator every week. Follow us on twitter and realscientists.org