Guthega Pondage

Rebecca Lily
2 min readApr 11, 2019

--

High in the Snowy Mountains, above Lake Jindabyne lies two little known dams fed by the upper reaches of the famous Snowy River, they are called Guthega Pondage and Island Bend Dam.

Guthega, like other stillwaters in the Snowy Mountains, is open to all methods of trout fishing all year round, however unless you like ice fishing you had better restrict your fishing time to the warmer summer months.

You can get to Guthega easily in a 2 wheel drive vehicle by turning off the Kosciuszko Road on the way to Perisher, just before Sponars Chalet, and follow the signs to Guthega.

There are mainly small fish found in the dam, mainly rainbows, and because the water is crystal clear, the fish are also very spooky.

The Snowy River between Guthega and Island Bend

The best area to fish is to reach the Island Bend Pondage at Dinner Plain. There are a few dirt tracks down to different sections of the river and if you wish to fish small sections at a time you can do so with safety.

By following the Guthega signs from Kozciuzsko Road you will come to the Island Bend turnoff on the right. You may try to fish at the end of the dam, but it’s quite a long walk around.

The best area to try is the top end of the pondage and if you really want to fish the dam wall end, the walk from Dinner Plain is usually easier and you can always fish your way down and back again.

Biography:

Hi, everyone! My name’s Rebecca, and I just love to write and to fish! My

friends call me “Becca.” I’m 22 years old, single, and am currently residing in

New York working at an office.

With some free time I always give in to my

passions, and that’s why I started creating blogs and a website about

fishing, its two of my most favorite things!

Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/rebecca_lilyAG

Email me at: rebecca.lilyangling@gmail.com

Website: http://thatfishing.com

--

--