My Little Pony: WebApps are Magic

Rebecca Townsend
2 min readDec 12, 2017

--

Hi, my name is Rebecca, and I identify with Princess Twilight Sparkle from My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. Yes, I am an adult. And yes, I dressed up as a cartoon character for Halloween. And of course, the ColourPop x My Little Pony Collaboration is at the top of my holiday wishlist.

To help my friends and family understand my preoccupation with the anthropomorphized ponies, I built a web app.

Figure 1: Results when sorting the main characters by year released

By filtering and sorting the characters, you can see why I appreciate the diverse range of characters. The first two dropdowns are for filtering by kind (unicorn, dragon, etc.) and group (celebrities, royalty, etc.). The third dropdown sorts alphabetically and by year released (Figure 1).

Figure 2: Hover over a character to reveal a quote

To illustrate the positive messages central to My Little Pony, I added quotations for each of the characters (Figure 2). Twilight’s is “Reading is something everypony can enjoy, if they give it a try”, reminding of when I fell in love with reading in elementary school. Sweetie Belle, who sees the potential in everyone, says “She could become a great scientist, or an amazing artist, or fabulous writer. She could even be mayor of Ponyville some day.”

Whether you are new to My Little Pony or a self-identified Brony or Pegasister, you can checkout my app to learn more about the characters [1].

[1] https://rtownsen.github.io/my-app/

--

--