Remembering John Lewis

Rebecca Chen
3 min readJul 19, 2020

--

The name John Lewis first became known to me in the summer before my freshman year of high school. As a part oThe name John Lewis first became known to me in the summer before my freshman year of high school. As a part of a mandatory course for high schoolers in San Francisco, Ethnic Studies was possibly the most memorable course I have taken throughout high school so far. The required summer reading for the course were all three books of the March series, three short graphic novels depicting the Civil Rights Movement and John Lewis’ involvement. The course taught the importance of understanding racial injustice and throughout the year, John Lewis struck out to me. He stood alongside Martin Luther King Jr. and has continued to use his platform to educate others.

He spoke at Barack Obama’s inauguration and on July 17th, Obama said this, “He loved this country so much that he risked his life and his blood so that it might live up to its promise. And through the decades, he not only gave all of himself to the cause of freedom and justice, but inspired generations that followed to try to live up to his example.” March depicted the struggles African Americans faced and the pure violence and terror they encountered during the Civil Rights Movement. The past couple of months, the call for racial inequality has greatly increased. George Floyd’s death marked the start of new change. I had my eyes glued to the television as I saw uprisings and protests spread like wildfire throughout the nation. I signed numerous petitions but I still felt like I did not know what I could do to help. My parents did not let me attend any protests because fears of catching COVID-19 were higher than ever in New York. I wanted to live up to John Lewis’ example and march in solidarity with others along the east side of Manhattan.

Emmet Till was fourteen, younger than me.

Trayvon Martin was simply trying to walk home with Skittles and some iced tea.

Breonna Taylor was sleeping, may she forever rest in peace.

I am a non black minority, so I will never know the pure racial injustice black men and women face but I stand in solidarity with them. When I heard a protest was passing by about a block from my house, I told my mom I needed to take a walk, tired from staying home the past week. This was the first time I had left my house since quarantine. Thousands lined the streets and it was truly a moment I would never forget. People of all ages, all races, coming together for the human race. There were signs that read, “Say their names!” and “Black Lives Matter.” John Lewis has taught me that it is not enough to not be racist, you need to be anti-racist. The fight for racial equality has been going on for years, but George Floyd was the boiling point. John Lewis will influence others for eternity.

--

--

Rebecca Chen
0 Followers

High school teen from New York City who enjoys writing in her free time.