World Teacher’s Day!

Amos Rebecca
2 min readOct 5, 2022

Its amazing to be here celebrating one set of people that have massive impacts in my life!

I will love to start by celebrating my mummy, she is my first teacher. She taught me how to write my name in the air and ensured that I spent my weekends tracing my handwriting book, even though my handwriting is still terrible at least I can read them.

As a kid, I assumed that being a teacher is an easy job, like they close early from work, they just sing rhythms and play with kids especially those teaching nursery and primary classes. As a grown up now, I realize that being a teacher is one of the most tedious jobs on earth. Shout out to all the teachers out there, you all are the real MVPs!

Annually, October 05, is set aside to celebrate teachers all round the globe and appreciate them for all their efforts. Just like every other international day, this day is guided by a theme for celebration. This year’s theme is “The transformation of education begins with teachers.”

I believe this theme is timely as there are numerous teachers that feel out of place in the educational system and society at large simply because the government, those in authority and the people made them feel irrelevant.

Some parents made it clear that a teacher’s duty is limited to the teaching of western education ignoring the fact that teachers are the brains behind shaping of behaviors and play key role in the development of children.

While top government officials, ministers and school owners sit to discuss the way forward in the educational system of a nation, it is important for teachers to be on that table, because no one cares about education like teachers. Also, their welfares should be placed as a priority, these will encourage more people to join and be passionate about their jobs.

Transforming the educational system of a nation requires the participation of great teachers who are well taken care of and appreciated. Below are some way to treat our teachers:

  1. Pay them good salaries and incentives; teachers deserve good pay they are humans also and have families too.
  2. Treat them nicely
  3. Create learning space for them to refill, expose them to technology and advanced ways of teaching.
  4. Appreciate them; on special days like Christmas, Sallah, Easter, Teachers’ day and children’s day
  5. Set up policies that favor them, like the teachers’ acts, friendly mortgages and good retirement plans. And
  6. Organize healthy competitions and award the winners.

Every great person you see today has been taught and mentored by a teacher! Send a special message appreciating your teachers today! It will make them smile!

Happy Teachers!

--

--

Amos Rebecca

Hey! I am an unapologetic lover of writing and I’m here to serve you unadulterated premium content. There is always something productive for you here. ✌🏿✌🏿