It’s All in The Moments: Capturing Inspiration

Rebecca E. Neely
Storytelling, Everyday
4 min readOct 19, 2018

--

It’s been said that life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away. The grand gesture, the big finish, the lightning bolt epiphany, the gut searing regret-it’s these moments that define us, change us, reveal our character, good and bad. All tell our story.

As a woman, as a mother, and the many other roles I’ve assumed so far in this life, I count forty-eight years to date of moments that have collectively made who me who I am and tell my own story.

As a writer, it’s these moments-and the emotions that fuel them-that provide story inspiration, enable me to get close to my characters, and relate to my readers. They also provide a jumping off point, if you will, for selecting those big story moments and turning points and enable me to show, versus tell.

There are some moments of which I have instant recall and that have become a part of my soul. Others, I feel like I should remember and don’t. Still others I’d like to forget.

Indeed.

I remember the moment when…

As a child of three, I made the wondrous connection that the letter ‘B’ was the first in my name ‘Beckie’ while scribbling with crayons at the kitchen table.

--

--

Rebecca E. Neely
Storytelling, Everyday

Author, gritty 2nd chance romance ~ PNR & Suspense @Medium Parenting, Writing, Life Lessons. Reader of all the 📚 Here’s what I got for ‘ya www.rebeccaneely.com