Postpartum Depression and Baby Blues

Not just another list of statistics, signs, and symptoms

Rebekah B
4 min readMay 27, 2022
Crying smeared makeup, fake smile, depression, I’m fine
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

I remember crying in front of the mirror while I tried to put on makeup. I felt overwhelmed, and worst of all, guilty for the emotions and thoughts circulating in my mind.

-Inadequate

-Overwhelmed

-Withdrawn

My newborn daughter was only a few weeks old at the time. We were planning to have a family lunch hosted by my parents. My mom had texted a few minutes before this episode of tears to ask if we could coordinate colors for some family photos.

It was a small request, but at that moment, it was too much. The fountain of tears was unleashed.

I felt overwhelmed by how overwhelmed I felt.

I felt ridiculous for feeling so overwhelmed by such a small request.

“as many as 1 in 5 new moms develop postpartum depression.” — AWHONN

Even though I was a labor and delivery nurse and was well aware of the statistics, I never envisioned I would experience it. I provided discharge instructions and education about postpartum depression to countless women. I knew the list of signs and symptoms.

Aware that I was dancing the line between baby blues and postpartum depression, I told myself that if I started to cross the line, I would reach out for help.

But if you were to ask me, I was fine.

Friend: “How is life as a mom???”

Me: “It’s wonderful.”

Friend: “Aren’t you just in love with your baby?”

Me: “Yes, she has me wrapped around her little fingers.”

And so the walls of isolation were constructed.

Photo by Paola Chaaya on Unsplash

I felt ashamed that I wasn’t experiencing pure joy and bliss as a new mom.

I was conflicted over my array of emotions.

It was a rollercoaster and was no easy walk in the park.

The process of labor and delivery had taken a toll on my body, and there were times I grieved the price I paid.

I felt isolated in my postpartum journey.

Up to that point, I had never heard any friends or co-workers share personal stories of postpartum depression or baby blues. Instead, it was something from textbooks and medical journals.

I didn’t have a face to connect it to until I had my own.

I wasn’t experiencing the delightful symphony of motherhood that I imagined.

I was overwhelmed. The sleep deprivation, physical discomfort, and hormonal fluctuation did not help.

Around two months postpartum the cloud began to lift, and I was able to emerge. I felt more like my normal self, and it was good to be back.

During those first months, I felt so overwhelmed, that I never pushed myself to verbally process. I didn’t feel like I could articulate what I was feeling, so I did not try.

In the middle of it all, I kept telling myself that I was only dealing with the baby blues. But looking back, I think it was a mild case of undiagnosed postpartum depression.

I had played a dangerous game by not being honest in verbally processing my experience while I was going through it. In hindsight, it would have been better for me to confide in my husband and the people I trusted to build up a better support system.

Going back to work after maternity leave, I was able to connect with my patients on a different level.

I was no longer spouting off a list of signs and symptoms. I was able to make patient education more relatable by sharing some of my experiences.

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

That is why, in writing this article, I decided to share my story. There are plenty of comprehensive resources available about postpartum depression. As a nurse writer, I did not want to publish another article with the scientific facts, a list of symptoms, and research studies.

There is a different connection formed through sharing personal stories and experiences. Everyone who endures postpartum depression or baby blues experiences a different variety of symptoms.

Whether you are a new mother in the early postpartum phase, a spouse with a new baby, a supporting friend, or a family member you play a role.

To the mothers of newborns:

  • Ask for help.
  • Keep the people around you that you trust and can be real with.
  • Be honest with your healthcare provider so they provide the care you need.
  • Advocate for yourself even if it means verbally stumbling through what you are experiencing.
  • Transparency can build a strong support network.

To everyone else:

  • Initiate connection and support.
  • Keep initiating, even when she says she is fine.
  • Read a few stories of people who have experienced postpartum depression.
  • Be the friend/family member that you would want if you were in that scenario.

Resources:

https://www.postpartum.net/learn-more/depression/

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/postpartum-depression/symptoms-causes/syc-20376617

--

--

Rebekah B

Nurse, writer, ex-pat in Thailand, mother, and wife. I write about life lessons, nursing, health & wellness, parenting, & travel.