The Art of Friends

Melvin
2 min readNov 8, 2023

I remember turning on my small tv with an antenna in the early 2000’s and the show “friends” would be on air in NBC- What stood out to me was the eclectic purple apartment set and the central perk cafe giant coffee cups. However the words and the context of the show flew over my head and I never truly understood the storyline.

20 Years later now in my mid to late 20’s I’ve watched the show from season 1 to season 2 on HBOmax and in chandlers sarcastic voice “boy oh boy do I relate”. From the struggling to making ends meet like joey, discomfort with parental figures like Monica and the shame that comes from following your own voice like Rachel.

Introspectively, I look within and ask myself why has it been so hard to make friends all my life? And from watching the show I realize that a lot of the times in my life I tried to hide where I’ve struggled. What I admire about the storyline is how everyone is open about their challenges and it brings them together and it’s those constant battles that continue to deepen the friendships and bond between the characters.

So far my favorite episode is the very first one in season one where Rachel enters central perk cafe in wet wedding dress while she left her husband to be at the alter and Ross finalized his divorce. It’s my favorite so far because it signified to me that sometimes in where everything in life falls apart is the launch pad of when new relationships begin.

R.I.P to Matthew Perry

--

--

Melvin

Journal styled writing. Inspired by life lessons and self reflection. A exploration to connection.