Melancholy in Summer

Reem Hosam
2 min readMar 19, 2017
Van Gogh — “Almond Blossoms”

It is extremely dark in here. The only thread of light is one sneaking shyly through the keyhole in the gray, rusty, steel door. There is sun and morning on the other side, but I’m lying here on this dusty floor, between four walls. I painted them in my mind during the many weeks I spent here.

I bend to bring one eye really close to that ‘hole of hope’, as I came to call it. I can’t but see a world that does not want me. Does not invite me out into it. I see children running, I see sun rays falling gently on their blond curls. I see grass, I see blue skies. I can hear laughter, I can hear happiness, I can hear “life”. If only I could cross over to the other side. If only I could walk with my bare feet to feel the freshly cut grass underneath them, and the stings of the summer sun on my skin, and the cool breeze of air caressing my cheeks.

I’m so close to you, my love, and yet I’m so far. Can you hear me? I have knocked that door a million times. I have slammed my fists against it and I bled at my knuckles, those little bumps of love that you used to kiss with your delicate lips. All I want to do is to cross over, to the light.

I don’t want to stay in the dark anymore. I see those trees outside and I see myself sitting underneath one of them, in shadows, but not in the dark. I do not belong in the dark. Take me. Take me to the ocean, to the rainbow, to the sky. Take me to sail with you, to fly with you, to run through forests with you, to play with butterflies landing on our shoulders, and with birds while they sing sweet lullabies into our ears.

How can the world be so cruel to throw us into worlds where we do not belong? But..In the dawn, I always sense that one day, one morning, a friendly truce will arise, and the other side will finally make peace with all the prisoners lying desperately on the floors of cold rooms. Some day, someone will open this door. Someone will take us to this light outside, and we will never, ever, return. Someone shall save us from the dark. Perhaps tomorrow we shall be saved. Perhaps one day we shall be saved.

--

--

Reem Hosam

A person who occasionally writes, inspired by the jags in her heart and the lessons well-learned. I sell colors and light for a living.