(Source: pixnio.com)

5 Fort Collins Coffee Shops, Ranked

Bonus: they’re all really easy to get to on a bike.

Regan McMahon
6 min readJan 29, 2018

--

To say that Fort Collins is a coffee-friendly town is an understatement. It’s full of young families and professionals as well as 33,000 CSU students- and all of these people need to be caffeinated!

With all of the coffee shops here, it can be hard to try and pick one. Maybe you want a lively spot where you can hang out and chat with friends, or perhaps somewhere more quiet where you can cross some things off your to-do list.

The five coffee shops listed here are all within a mile of College Avenue and Laurel Street. I’m rating the atmosphere, the work space, and the coffee(by way of cappuccino) of each one, followed by an overall rating. Choose wisely!

1. Alleycat Coffee House

Free seats: none. New friends: one. (Source: Regan McMahon)

Atmosphere: 4/5

Alleycat is known for being open 24/7, making it a popular student destination. However, it’s a little further downtown, so there were quite a few people there who probably weren’t students. It was absolutely jointed when I went there- I actually couldn’t find a seat, so I sat on a step and made friends with the dog in the photo above while I finished my drink.

Work space: 2/5

This would be a fun place to hang out with friends (if you can find seats!), but it’s really not a coffee shop that’s conducive to working. The music is really loud, and people have to talk loudly if they want to hear each other. As I said, it was completely full when I got there, so the Wi-Fi was pretty slow. If you want to get a table big enough to spread out and get some work done, go early in the morning. Like, between 7 and 9 a.m., if I had to guess. Whatever works!

Coffee: 3/5

My drink cost $4.25, and looked to be approximately 12 ounces. It was a pretty solid cappuccino; I found it a little too bitter, but it had the perfect amount of foam. Definitely more expensive, but I got to pet a dog for twenty minutes, so I’m okay with it. Here’s the menu.

Total Score: 9/15

2. Mountain Iris Café

The namesake of this coffee shop. (Source: Wikimedia Commons)

Atmosphere: 5/5

It wasn’t too busy when I went to the Mountain Iris Café; it’s on Prospect Road at the intersection with the train tracks, so it’s a little hard to spot. However, there was a quiet buzz of people talking and cheerful pop music playing, and the barista was really friendly. The word that comes to mind is ‘cozy’.

Work space: 4/5

There were lots of tables and natural light, and just the right amount of background noise. Some tables were a little small, but would still fit a laptop and a cup of coffee (and what more do you really want, anyway?). There weren’t many outlets, though- charge your computer before coming here.

Coffee: 4/5

Cappuccinos cost $3.50, but I got a 10% student discount (take note!). It tasted great, it was ready almost supernaturally fast, and, yes, it had a good foam-to-liquid ratio. Here’s the menu.

Total Score: 13/15

3. Mugs Coffee Lounge at the Oval

“Friends don’t let friends drink corporate coffee”. (Source: Regan McMahon)

Atmosphere: 5/5

Lively and busy- definitely a student hangout, due to its proximity to campus. I found a seat as soon as I walked in, and my drink was ready in under two minutes. The music was at just the right volume, and people were chatting off and on the whole time I was there.

Work space: 5/5

There were plenty of places to sit- big tables, little tables, a few armchairs, and a bar top. The storefront is all windows, so the lighting is great. Lots of people had their computers plugged in, so there were plenty of electrical outlets around the place (always a bonus). Also, the Wi-Fi was really fast.

Coffee: 3.5/5

I got a 12-ounce cappuccino with 2 shots for $3.00 even. It was nice and strong, and had what first appeared to be a healthy amount of foam. But alas! There wasn’t actually that much coffee in it- I finished it a lot sooner than I expected, and it turned out to have been mostly foam in the first place. A little disappointing in that regard, but the coffee that I did drink was very tasty. (I gave half a point for the funny slogan on the cup.) Here’s the menu.

Total Score: 13.5/5

4. Wild Boar Café

Pardon the photo quality- I was THOROUGHLY distracted by the mac and cheese. (Source: Regan McMahon)

Atmosphere: 5/5

The Wild Boar is an old house on College that’s been converted into a coffee shop, which gives it a really cozy feel. You have to walk through most of the house to get to the counter and place an order, but there’s a lot of art on the walls to look at along the way. Like the Alleycat, it was jointed and I ended up walking all over the place trying to find somewhere to sit. I actually did get a seat this time, though.

Work space: 4/5

It’s a busy place and most of the noise is from people talking- there were several large groups when I visited. However, it never gets too loud because it’s an old house where every room is separate. There are lots of electrical outlets and lighting, and a good variety of seating- armchairs and couches mixed with regular tables and chairs. I would recommend going with a friend and taking turns ordering while one of you stays back to keep your spot!

Coffee: 5/5

I got a 12-ounce cappuccino for $3.05, and got the mac and cheese for $4.50 because I have no integrity and I was starving. I highly, HIGHLY recommend both of them. The drink was really creamy, smooth, and sweeter than the others I tried. The mac and cheese would probably be my Death Row meal. Here’s the menu (but seriously, try the mac and cheese).

Total Score: 14/15

5. Harbinger Coffee

I saved my best photo for last. (Source: Regan McMahon)

Atmosphere: 5/5

Harbinger was the last shop I went to, and the smallest. It’s on Mason Street, several blocks north of Alleycat. There were people at every table talking and just hanging out, and the music was very low-key. This one felt the least like a student spot- two families actually came in while I was there, but it still felt really cozy and relaxed. The bar is in the center of the shop, so you get the added entertainment of watching your drink being made.

Work space: 5/5

There were lots of tables for such a small space- it’s laid out pretty well. The walls are glass, so it’s brightly lit, and there are outlets by almost all the tables. There’s a little couch, too, and then seating all the way along the bar. It never got too loud, but there was a comfortable level of background noise. I actually spent the most time here- I stayed for almost two hours and wrote the bulk of this article.

Coffee: 5/5

This cappuccino was by far my favorite. It was 12 ounces for $4.50, the most expensive one yet. There was no sugar in it (that I know of), but it tasted almost like chocolate. I was two seconds from throwing my budget out the window and buying a second one (because if you get a little glass of water WITH the cappuccino, isn’t it technically worth the money?), but I decided it would be better to just leave and let absence make my heart grow fonder. Here’s the menu.

Total Score: 15/15

--

--