Why I Stopped Going To The Gym

Regina Eyite
2 min readNov 12, 2022

--

Photo by John Arano on Unsplash

In January 2021, I embarked on my fitness journey. Went from home workouts in my university accommodation to hitting the gym once the world opened up again.

Everything seemed to be going well, until one day, I intentionally stopped going.

Here are my reasons why.

1. My “Why” changed

Everyone has their “why” – their motivation to go to the gym. Initially, I aspired to be a model. I wanted to get skinny to improve my chances of getting signed to a modelling agency.

Eventually, I realised that I wasn’t going to be like Bella Hadid. Once I decided that modelling wasn’t the career for me, my “why” changed. I now focus on being fit and healthy to prevent illness in the future. That’s why I continue to be physically active.

2. I did not set clear goals

All I wanted to do was “lose as much weight as possible”. This meant that I wasn’t working out with intention. Not being specific in what you want to achieve sets you up for failure.

Now, I make sure that any goal I set follows the SMART criteria:

Specific

Measurable

Achievable

Realistic

Time-Bound.

3. I was comparing myself to others

I would look at fitness influencers and think, “Why don’t I look like that?” “Am I doing something wrong?”

Someone may not look the same as they do on their Instagram profile. There’s Photoshop, filters, lighting and other factors that contribute to their posts. Reminding myself that social media is not real life has helped. Also, certain fitness influencers have been working out for years. If you focus on yourself and keep going, eventually, you’ll get there.

4. I only cared about my appearance

Again, my main motivation was weight loss. This meant that I constantly scrutinised my appearance. This lead me to have a negative body image. No matter how much progress I made, my body was never enough.

Once I accept my body for what it was, it made the journey healthier. Unfortunately, it also meant that I lost my main motivation for the gym.

I have found it helpful to think about other benefits to physical activity, such as: improved stamina, more energy, better mental health and a sense of community.

Losing weight isn’t the only reason to be on a fitness journey.

5. I didn’t progressively overload correctly

Progressive overload is a necessity but you have to do it carefully. Otherwise, you could get injured. I didn’t do this and ended up having to take a break from the gym because I had over exerted myself. Don’t make the same mistake I did.

Will I go back to the gym? Maybe. But for now, I go on runs and I do pole dancing. Through learning my lessons, I am having a way more enjoyable fitness journey.

--

--