Get Ube-sessed: Your Guide to the Sweetest Purple Yam!

Ooh-beh what?

Regina Eco
2 min readMay 25, 2023
Ube from Nungning20

One of my favorite root crops from my native country, the Philippines, is Ube.

What is Ube? I pronounce it ooh-beh. It is a staple purple root crop from the Philippines, known as purple yam in the US. It has been one of my favorite root crops, and when it became popular here in the US, I couldn’t be happier. Ube definitely intrigued my friends, and it’s easy to see why. Ube stands out because of social media. I found eye-catching photos like ice cream, cakes, pancakes, bread, and lattes.

Ube ice cream from Happy_Lark

When my family and I are in Baguio City, we always stop at the Good Shepherd, to buy Ube Halaya — my favorite. Relatives will always try to make it, which is different. I’ve tried to make it, but the taste is different. So I have to keep experimenting to get the flavor right. It is also popular to add ube halaya as a topping for Halo-halo (another Filipino dessert with shaved ice).

What is the fascination with Ube? I cannot deny that the alluring purple color plays a big role. Who could resist that royal hue? Plus, it is eye-catching on social media. The taste is mildly sweet. Imagine the comfort of a sweet potato with a dash of vanilla and a hint of coconut.

Finally, with a growing interest in exotic and healthy ingredients, Ube fits right in. It’s packed with vitamins and antioxidants, making it as good for you as it is tasty. The popularity of ube isn’t a passing trend. This trend will not end anytime soon.

Here are some hotspots in Los Angeles where you can find mouth-watering Ube desserts:
BSweet
Big Boi
Cafe 86
RedRibbon Bakeshop

--

--

Regina Eco

Connector, Strategist, Engineer, Possibility Coach, and a Yoga Teacher talks about self-leadership, personal & professional growth, travel and love dogs.