How to determine if I’m an extrovert or introvert?

Reginald Chan
3 min readMay 9, 2017

--

For me, there are several ways to figure that out. But before that, let’s get down to the real meaning of introvert and extrovert.

Introvert — A shy person. I’m an introvert myself so, I could tell you more on this. Generally, you are not the person that enjoy creating conversation. You are very reserved and would shy away from the limelight. You might feel uncomfortable making the first move in conversation, or even meeting up people especially in big crowds.

Extrovert — You are an outgoing person. Pretty much opposite from the above, you love talking to others and are often considered as ‘fun’. You have no problem talking to anyone in the street and at anytime.

Infographic on extrovert vs introvert

Powerful information from The Myers & Briggs Foundation.

Extraversion (E)

I like getting my energy from active involvement in events and having a lot of different activities. I’m excited when I’m around people and I like to energize other people. I like moving into action and making things happen. I generally feel at home in the world. I often understand a problem better when I can talk out loud about it and hear what others have to say.

The following statements generally apply to me:

  • I am seen as “outgoing” or as a “people person.”
  • I feel comfortable in groups and like working in them.
  • I have a wide range of friends and know lots of people.
  • I sometimes jump too quickly into an activity and don’t allow enough time to think it over.
  • Before I start a project, I sometimes forget to stop and get clear on what I want to do and why.

Introversion (I)

I like getting my energy from dealing with the ideas, pictures, memories, and reactions that are inside my head, in my inner world. I often prefer doing things alone or with one or two people I feel comfortable with. I take time to reflect so that I have a clear idea of what I’ll be doing when I decide to act. Ideas are almost solid things for me. Sometimes I like the idea of something better than the real thing.

The following statements generally apply to me:

  • I am seen as “reflective” or “reserved.”
  • I feel comfortable being alone and like things I can do on my own.
  • I prefer to know just a few people well.
  • I sometimes spend too much time reflecting and don’t move into action quickly enough.
  • I sometimes forget to check with the outside world to see if my ideas really fit the experience.

How to test if you are an introvert and extrovert?

Asking yourself is always the easiest and cheapest of all.

  • Do you enjoy talking to people?
  • Do you feel comfortable starting a conversation?
  • Do you enjoy being in crowds or solo?
  • Are you the shy-type or the active one in the group?
  • Do you talks a lot when you are with your friends or they do more talking instead?

Answering the questions above would easily give you some positive feedback on being an introvert and extrovert.

Important: You can be an introvert and extrovert at the same time. I am always an introvert, but when it comes to business, I’ll push myself to become an extrovert to close sales and deals. After that, I’ll go back to my introvert state.

How to test (and sure) if you are an introvert and extrovert?

There are two places that I highly recommend you to try them out. I know a lot of professionals had went through there as well.

Disclaimer: I am not associated with any of the companies above but I personally used the second link (yes, it is paid) to figure out myself. Trust me, it is probably the BEST investment — ever.

Good luck in figuring out if you are an introvert or extrovert!

--

--