Self portrait

Building an overnight success

A ten year plan

Fer Romero
2 min readApr 19, 2017

--

Ok, let’s do this.

I want to be that guy that suddenly everyone says: “Wow! Where did he came from?” But I’m not fooled. I don’t buy the idea that suddenly someone comes out of nowhere and surprises the world with his/her raw talent.

I believe I have talent.

Yes, I feel weird saying that, but fuck it! It’s not arrogance. If I don’t admit it to myself, how I expect other people to recognize it.

There are so many traps and illusions for the creative people. I’ve been guilty of all of them and a victim to all them (no, no victim, just guilty).

  • Self doubt
  • Fear
  • Laziness
  • Over thinking
  • Fear
  • Lack of motivation
  • Lack of inspiration
  • Fear

But there is a time to say, fuck it!

I’m taking the Gary Vaynerchuk advice and I will start documenting my process instead of worrying with the creation. I’m hearing you Gary! Maybe you are reading me right now.

I’m done trying. I’m done with excuses. Whatever happens after this post is my responsibility. I’m done with fear. It has been crippling me for far too long!

I’ll be sharing my journey into photography and filmmaking. If you are interested in those topics, follow me. Maybe we can share ideas or help us through a tough spot. I know I will be needing support and I’m eager to give it.

I believe that no one makes it on their own. You have to surround yourself with great people to accomplish anything you want in life.

I’m no expert in any area I will be covering and I will never claim to be one. I’m learning and I would love if you would learn with me and teach me something.

My goal is going to be someone that could have helped me when I was younger or even now. Just knowing there is someone else dealing with the same frustrations and problems.

I’m setting my immediate goal to hold myself accountable of it.

I will be posting 3 times a week on Medium.

  • One post will be about a piece of content I found interesting in that week.
  • The second post will be about what I’ve done related to photography or filmmaking. A sort of diary or blog about my career.
  • The third one will be about life. What I’m feeling about whatever is in my mind that week.

This three topics are there for a reason that I will be addressing them on my next post.

I hope you will join me.

See you at 35.

If something of what I just wrote speaks to you, please follow me on Instagram, Twitter, and of course, here on Medium. Reccomend and share with someone that might like it.

--

--