Linux Foundation Certified Engineer

Renato Mefi
2 min readApr 12, 2016

--

In 2014 I took my LFCS certification and wrote about it here, and now I’m back to talk about its next level, the LFCE.

And exactly 1 year and 2 days later I passed the LFCE exam.

First things first

Why did I took this long? The reason is the expire date. Linux Foundation certifications have a due date of 2 years, but if you pass the next level, both are gonna expire in the date of the last one, which means my expire date is now September 19th, 2017 for LFCS and LFCE!

How did I study for the exam?

The process to study for this exam was pretty similar as the previous one, but this time I took more attention to “debugging”, what I mean by this? Every command, process or configuration that I’ve done I tried to prove it was working, by that simulating the real situation in order to make sure the exam correction tool would understand the same as I did. For example, create a route on IPTables and use the “-j TRACE” option to check if my route was effectively working afterwards. Configure an Apache with SSL using a self-signed certificate, see it working on a browser and in a local proxy.

How is it comparing to LFCS?

It’ s significantly harder, but it doesn’t mean it’s a super hard certification.

The most difficult part of those certifications is to make sure the final result is right, which means you must have some experience with the topics, this way you have enough knowledge to go though configuration and testing.

Can I tell you the exam content?

Sorry, I can’t, you have enough information in the official exam page and I don’t want to ruin your surprises during the exam! And of course I don’t want to lose my own certification by spreading its contents.

I wish you lucky in your exam, don’t forget to practice a lot for it!

Please follow me to keep in touch and to know my next steps in the certifications adventures! Leave a comment if you have any questions!

--

--

Renato Mefi

ZCE, ZCPE, ZFCE, LPIC-1, LFCS, LFCE Professional. a.k.a.: A guy who loves linux and software development! https://github.com/renatomefi