Castle Clinton & Statue of Liberty National Monuments — April 2017

Renee Shenton
5 min readMar 6, 2019

--

Writer’s note: I’m republishing a collection of Camp Happy Trail stories from Medium Series. I’ve decided these stories should live on Medium. I’ll be republishing 1–2 stories per week (12 in the archives) and will publish new stories thereafter. Thank you for reading. This will be my last time publishing this note.

I was lucky enough to kick off National Park Week by visiting New York City for the first time ever. I wanted to hit as many NPS properties as possible but also wanted to see some of the amazing tourist attractions NYC had to offer. So I compromised: I decided to visit Castle Clinton and Statue of Liberty National Monuments.

Now, if you’ve been to either of these locations you know you have to go into Castle Clinton to redeem or purchase your ticket to the Statue of Liberty. I didn’t know this until I arrived but what a treat!

Castle Clinton isn’t very large but it’s worth a look around if you’re interested in learning about the history of the U.S. and immigration (a hot topic right now). It was originally built in 1811 (one of five forts in the area) to defend New York Harbor but it never saw any military action. The U.S. Army gave Castle Clinton to New York City in 1823.

From then on, the building had various uses. In 1824, it was used as an entertainment center. Between 1855 and 1890, Castle Clinton was used as an immigrant landing depot, welcoming eight million people into the U.S. with healthcare, employment, and transportation. This fact actually blew my mind: how long did our current president live in NYC? Had he ever been here? How well does he know the history of the U.S.? Anyway, the government built a larger immigration center on Ellis Island and Castle Clinton was shut down in 1890.

In 1896, it reopened as the New York City Aquarium and lasted through 1941. It was demolished to make room for the Brooklyn-Battery subway tunnel but the demolition revealed the original walls of the Castle Garden. This prompted a group of preservationists to halt the Castle’s complete destruction. It was designated a National Monument following World War II.

After I finished touring around Castle Clinton, I hopped into a very long line for the ferry to Statue of Liberty. Forty minutes later, I was buzzing as I got on the ferry. I made my way to the top deck: it was crowded but warm in the sun.

About 10 minutes later, we approached the island. The feeling is indescribable. I could hardly believe the feeling it gave me and I couldn’t begin to imagine what a boat full of immigrants, escaping famine or political persecution, felt as they approached their new freedom.

She elegantly stands 305’ tall, is made of copper, and is only as thick as two pennies stacked together. The outside layer of copper has oxidized, giving Lady Liberty a green coating and also protecting the bottom layers of copper.

Per the NPS, Lady Liberty “was a gift of friendship from the people of France to the United States and is recognized as a universal symbol of freedom and democracy. The Statue of Liberty was dedicated on October 28, 1886. It was designated as a National Monument in 1924. Employees of the National Park Service have been caring for the colossal copper statue since 1933.”

The Statue of Liberty showcases its message of freedom in different ways. The broken shackles at her feet signify an escape from tyranny. The tablet in her left arm is inscribed with the date of the American Declaration of Independence. The seven rays on her crown spread enlightenment across the world. Lastly, her torch and flame illuminate the world with truth and justice.

As a product of immigrant parents, coming to the Statue of Liberty was an honor. But it was also a rude awakening. This amazing country was built, hand-in-hand, with immigrants and yet we live in a time where so many are afraid of immigrants, afraid of diversity. The travel ban is dividing this country, the border wall is a complete sham, and there are millions of refugees that need help, help that the U.S. once took pride in providing to those in need.

I’d like to end this post with a sonnet written by Emma Lazarus called The New Colossus:

Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,

With conquering limbs astride from land to land;

Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand

A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame

Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name

Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand

Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command

The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.

“Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she

With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor,

Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,

The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.

Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,

I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Adventure #4 & 5: Complete.

--

--