January Reads: The Best Books I Read in January 2024 📚

Renee
2 min readJan 31, 2024

--

Diary of a Void by Emi Yagi

When I finished this book, I threw my head back and laughed because I loved it so much. A fast-paced read, I ate every page up quickly and was incredibly satisfied with every piece, from the writing to the plot and even way the chapters were broken down. This novel is a satirical, heartfelt, and an incredibly relatable reflection on women facing the beast that is capitalism and the workforce we’re given.

The main character finds herself announcing a pregnancy that hasn’t happened in order to escape the absurd tasks that come with the expectation of her role in her corporate office. As the novel and her pregnancy unfold, her observations around what the world is doing with her newfound state and what she’s doing with herself are both poignant and hilarious.

Monstrilio by Gerardo Sámano Córdova

Literary horror is my genre. I gravitate towards any story that uses the dark and frightening to tell a story that is beautiful and empathetic, which is the perfect home for this amazing novel.

Monstrilio was born from the lung of Magos and Joseph’s deceased son and turned into a little monster named Monstrilio. The story follows the family and Monstrilio himself in a story with the themes of grief, acceptance, love and more importantly, who and how to give our love and understanding to. Without giving too much away, this novel is beautifully written, sharp, and emotional.

Time is a Mother by Ocean Vuong

I’ve been waiting patiently to sink into this collection for a while now and it did not disappoint. I collect paperback books, especially for poetry collections, so when my local bookstore had a used copy in perfect condition, I dove happily back in Ocean’s poetry.

As usual, I hardly have words to express how much I love reading Ocean Vuong’s work; I follow and read anything that comes my way because I’m complely enamored with any work from this author. Heart wrenching seems like a good phrase to use, but also tender and angry. The poem that had me sobbing among the bubbles in my bathtub (literally, not figuratively) will make me never look at an Amazon shopping cart the same way. After experiencing a recent loss myself, this collection was both cathartic and agonizing.

--

--

Renee

Photographer + Writer based out of San Francisco. Personal reflections, culture, lifestyle and mental health musings.