The Best Matcha Drinks I Had in January and What To Pair With Them

Renee
3 min readJan 29, 2024

--

I consider myself a matcha-fanatic. I remember fondly the source of my fanaticism starting back in college, when my cousin and I would sit together in our favorite coffeeshops to study and she introduced me to what was then referred to as green tea lattes.

Now that they’re popular amongst the Western trendsetters, matcha drinks are pretty common to find on most cafe menus. Here in San Francisco they’re pretty ubiquitous in general, even being the source of hours-long lines at shops that have gone viral online.

While pricey and trendy, my love hasn’t waned since my introduction over a decade ago. Here’s my love letter to the matcha drinks I had in January and what goes best with that earthy flavor.

The Matcha Plover from Andytown Coffee Roasters

This drink is for, in my opinion, Advanced Matcha Lovers. Soda water, brown sugar syrup, matcha, and sweet whipped cream. Not for those seeking a classic or authentic matcha beverage, but for those who aim to keep their relationship with green tea fresh.

It pairs best with a walk to beach, sunny afternoons, and a Lo-fi Spotify playlist.

A matcha drink sits in the sand with the ocean waves and sea grass behind it

The Matcha Cappuccino- but make it a latte- from Breadbelly

This one hurt the wallet a little bit, but it was my birthday weekend and I was being treated, so it wasn’t my wallet that was hurt. Brown sugar with Uji matcha in warm little cup, it was delicious and perfect. Simple and soothing.

Pairs best with birthday celebrations, a breakfast sandwich, and timing your trip with your payday.

The Iced Uji Matcha Soy Latte from Kiss of Matcha

My favorite matcha drink of the month, and probably so far in San Francisco, was from this small little shop on Clement street. Hand-whisked drinks that take a little longer to come out but are full of flavor and comfort. If you can handle it, the matcha expresso latte is an honorable mention.

Pairs best with eating bagels on the sidewalk, the New York Times Connections game, and browsing bookstores.

Honorable Mention: The Rose Matcha Latte at Stonemill Matcha

I mention this drink more because I was curious to try this super trendy spot to see if the hype was worth the wait. I really enjoyed the rose syrup and matcha combination and was happy to have tried it, but I honestly couldn’t say that it was worth the hours-long line, even after their re-opening.

Pairs best with comfortable sneakers, a group of friends, and good conversations.

--

--

Renee

Photographer + Writer based out of San Francisco. Personal reflections, culture, lifestyle and mental health musings.