Make it a double

Paul Reney
2 min readDec 30, 2017

--

Woke up just the other day
right after election day
open the phone news app
just to see the heck was up
That fat blond haired Twitter guy
was the one that got elected
I really did’nt wanna cry
but I sure did get affected

We got a wit for president
and that ain’t no accident
well of course no pain, no gain
Make America wait again

Now ain’t the kind to despair
‘bout that state of disrepair
just said to myself Bro
outta this shit we gotta grow
so come on let’s make a move
gotta find fast some other groove
’cause I did’nt know what to think
decided to go out and have a drink

We got a wit for president
and that ain’t no accident
well of course no pain, no gain
Make America wait again

Now my life it sure don’t matter
no wife no kids and my mother’s dying
once she be gone I’m the one after
pretend I’m young and I’d be lying
been on the bend for like a zillion days
no one’s waiting for me anyways
I’ll go back home to some more trouble
So hungover, barman make it a double

So hungover, barman make it a double
I’ll go back home find some more trouble
Cognac and cocaine
Bourbon and benzedrine

So hungover, barman make it a double
I’ll go back home find some more trouble
Cognac and cocaine
Bourbon and benzedrine

We got a wit for president
and that ain’t no accident
well of course no pain, no gain
Make America wait again

*image source : still from the movie The Shining, copyright Warner Brothers Entertainment Inc. 1980–2018

--

--

Paul Reney

looking for the unfollowable lightness of being in all the wrong places, head trauma survivor... j’écris et parle aussi français…from Montréal...mostly poetry