Transportation in the Future.

Renee Resendez
3 min readSep 14, 2021

--

Hoverboards, teleportation, flying saucers, the possibilities are endless! When thinking about the future, the only limit is your imagination. The future is a topic I find myself thinking about quite often, these thoughts usually include ideas such as aliens, robots, technology, and whatever remains of nature, if any. For the purpose of this post, I will be focusing on the topic of transportation and what the means of transportation could look like in the future.

Photo by Bram Van Oost on Unsplash

We will start with the boring stuff, electric vehicles. Fully electric and hybrid vehicles have seen a massive increase in demand over the last couple of years. TESLA has been the face of the electric vehicles industry for quite some time now but other automotive manufactures are joining the party. According to an article from Car and Driver Magazine, the Chevrolet Bolt EV is among the top three best-selling electric vehicles in 2021 so far. The Chevy Bolt EV is followed by Ford’s Mustang Mach-E and the Nissan Leaf on that list. The number of electric vehicles on the road is increasing every year. The question is, why are people making the switch to electric vehicles? This article from TriState, an electric utility provider, shares a list of five reasons why buying an electric vehicle is a good idea. The list includes saving on fuel costs, reducing your carbon footprint, lower maintenance costs, becoming increasingly affordable, and an overall smooth ride. I personally can vouch for that last reason. Recently, I was given the opportunity to take a friend's Tesla out for a joyride and I was honestly blown away by the car's performance and features. The mind-boggling part is, my buddy’s Tesla was a 2019 model, imagine what features and performances packages will be available in the year of 3000.

If for whatever I am still alive in the year 3000, the last thing I want to be riding in is a car on the roads. Traveling by aircraft would definitely be much more appealing to me. I am sure that by this point, they will have developed technology that is easy to operate and affordable to maintain. What I wonder is, will the factor of being eco-friendly still matter? Or will the planet be so polluted that we are far beyond that point? There is no way of knowing for certain but by the looks of it, we aren’t too far from destroying the planet Earth to a point of no return.

We can imagine all we want but some futuristic transportation technology has already been engineered and used by a human. Hunter Kowald, 28, broke the internet with a video of him flying 10–20 ft. in the air through Times Square. The device he is flying on is very drone-like, with multiple propellers that allow him to zip through the air. People on the internet have been making comparisons between his device and the Green Goblins from Spiderman. Take a look at the device for yourself.

This video reassures me that my beliefs are correct. People will be getting driven around by their fully electric vehicles, flying through the air on their hoverboards, and maybe even teleporting from place to place. The question is, how soon? Until then, I will keep riding my bike and driving my petroleum-fueled shitbox of a car to my destinations.

--

--