When and Why Should An Employee Become An Entrepreneur?

Behzad Sharifi
3 min readApr 12, 2022

--

Look, every worker can “challenge” their business owner.

Hey! What makes you so special? You are not superior to any of us working for your here. I can take your place.

A wise business owner who has no doubts about their capabilities and ego problems would say:

Do you think it is so easy? No problem. Here you go. Try walking in my shoes. Take my place for a week or a month. As of this moment, all of your co-workers are your responsibility.

Now, what do you think it’s going to happen the very same day?

Our worker who wanted to be a business owner would be begging to get back to his old workplace and working duties. WHY?

Because it doesn’t take long to figure out that being a business owner isn’t an easy ride. On the contrary, business owners have to know everything their workers know related to work, plus a business mindset. Business owners keep the show running, so everyone gets paid at the end of the month.

Do you think that it’s easy? Do you think anybody can be a business owner? Try it yourself. See how it is working out for you.

Here’s the thing, plain and simple. Any business owner can be an employee of the month, anytime and anywhere, but not every worker can be a successful business owner.

All of my friends and business partners, including myself, used to have very successful experiences as employees. And, I’m not talking about just one former job and just one former boss.

What happened in the meantime?

Well, one day you wake up and you ask yourself: Is there the next level in this business game I’m playing? The next thing you know, a successful employee becomes a successful entrepreneur.

Now, there’s also the other side of the coin, which I shouldn’t leave out in my answer.

You see, having an unsuccessful experience as an employee and having a bad time as an employee are two different things. I don’t believe that unsuccessful employees become successful entrepreneurs, if we’re talking about performance and motivation. On the other side, you have great employees, who could be great entrepreneurs too, but they just don’t know it yet. They haven’t tried yet for various reasons.

What I get a lot are stories like these: I used to do great as an employee, but I was unhappy and unfulfilled. That’s why I became an entrepreneur.

In plain English, one form of business success leads to another. You’re the same person, but now, you have a new business role as an entrepreneur.

The best thing successful employees could and should do is to become successful entrepreneurs.

--

--

Behzad Sharifi

Co-Principal at ResponseCRM | Two-Time “Noonies” Winner