Childhood Memories

The Ultimate Multi-player Game

Retro Thought Pod

--

Let me start by telling you what I will not do in this article. I will not name one game as the reigning champ over all multiplayer games. I will not describe my favorite aspects of multiplayer gaming or try and create some imaginary ultimate game that doesn’t exist. And most importantly, I will not discuss or even acknowledge online multiplayer games. We all know that the only real way to experience multiplayer is to sit Indian-style next to your bros and talk smack face to face, where crossing the line may result in an actual fist fight. So what am I going to do with this article? I am going to tell you the story of multiplayer gaming in my life and how I came to realize that a wrestling video game is the ultimate multiplayer game.

It all starts with the Nintendo 64. Don’t get me wrong, there was some great multiplayer gaming to be had prior to the N64, but the N64 had one killer feature that I feel gets overlooked too often… four controller slots… stock. Sure you could use a multi-tap to play with more people on the handful of games that supported it, but the N64 came with four slots. This not only means that you didn’t have to buy extra hardware, but that game developers could now design games around four players. And oh did they!

Count them… notice four controller slots? Oh yeah!

The first game I can really remember playing was Mario Kart 64. This game was possibly the crowning achievement of the Mario Kart series, but that’s a discussion for another day. Bottom line, this game introduced me to another world of playing with friends. A world that I didn’t know could exist. However, the multiplayer support was split screen (how else could they do it) and as such leaves me with a disconnect, albeit a small one, from the other players. Regardless, Mario Kart 64 still receives some heavy attention from time to time.

Next up… Goldeneye 64. Dun dun duuuuuun! This game is one that many would consider the ultimate multiplayer game. I can remember countless hours (and I do mean countless; we lost track of so much time) spent playing Goldeneye and its counterpart Perfect Dark. I would argue that Perfect Dark is better, but again, that’s a discussion for another day. Those games were so revolutionary that they, combined with a Microsoft game that begins with an H (I can’t ever remember the name), have pretty much ruined gaming today. There are sooooo many first person shooters now. Mostly all thanks to Goldeneye 64. But alas, the controls don’t quite hold up today and it is still split screen so there is still the whole feeling disconnected thing. You guys are going to rename me “Anti-Split-Screen Man” if I’m not careful.

Seriously disconnected. You can’t even see poor Natalya’s head in the bottom right box.

After that, I can remember playing a slew of sports games. NBA Hangtime. NBA Showtime. NHL Hitz? NFL Blitz.Oh NFL Blitz. I loved you so much. Whatever happened to you? You used to be so cool and fun. Sports games were a lot of fun to play with other people, but not everybody likes sports games. I know that while I enjoyed a good romp on the football field, I was longing for a more “gamey” experience. I wanted to beat someone or something up.

Enter THQ, AKI, WCW, and a little wrestling history (four players?). The year is 1997. Hulk Hogan had left the WWF and turned heel (bad guy) forming the nWo; Sting had turned into a “The Crow” look alike and was hanging out in the rafters being all creepy; and Monday nights were an all-out war over my attention between WCW Nitro and WWF Raw. The developer AKI (of the Virtual Pro Wrestling fame) teamed up with THQ to create the greatest innovation to ever hit wrestling video games…WCW vs. nWo: World Tour.

Sting! Come down! You’re scaring the kids!

Once we discovered that game, we spent hour after hour, night after night playing it. If there were countless hours lost playing Goldeneye 64, there were countless nights spent playing World Tour. We would rent other games or plan on playing other games, but just end up playing World Tour. This game has the most innovative and entertaining grapple system of any wrestling game out there. It’s so simple, yet so addicting. I’ve heard stories of people creating their own belts and championships for this game. It’s insane how much we loved this game, but that doesn’t even scratch the surface of love that we experienced when the sequel came out. Yes, shortly after we fell in love with World Tour; WCW vs. nWo: Revenge was released. That game improved upon an already great game with more of everything. It introduced ring entrances, heavily improved graphics, more arenas, more signature moves, actual WCW championships, attire modification, and much much more (like Goldberg). I remember playing that game until I just could not take it anymore… and then I played it again.

What was so special about the game is that everybody could play at the same time. Four players, on the same screen, in the same room. Fake wrestling matches on the screen would turn into real wrestling matches in the living room. Hearts were broken, titles were lost, and ankles were sprained (I know it doesn’t sound that serious, but remember we’re playing a video game here). It wasn’t a low impact experience when we played the wrestling game. It was pure mayhem (coincidentally, also the name of a pay-per-view event and terrible wrestling game made by EA).

I’m sorry EA, but you’re ruining Goldberg for me right now.

AKI would go on to release WWF games with the same game engine. They were technically better games, but never hit home quite like the WCW games did. Maybe it was because of the fact that we were starting to lose interest in wrestling by the time those games came out, but we didn’t spend nearly the time or have nearly as much fun with the WWF games. It basically just boils down to the memories for me. I have the fondest memories playing those wrestling games with my friends. Those are some of the best days of gaming I have ever experienced. AKI, where are you? I miss you.

-Michael

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and Podomatic!

--

--

Retro Thought Pod

Retro Thought Podcast, or RTP in wrestling finisher move format, is a podcast full of random thoughts and topics from years gone by.