BLOOD SIMPLE review (7/10)

Reuben Murray
3 min readJun 11, 2024

BLOOD SIMPLE was a film I very much enjoyed back in the day when it first came out on home video (I think I sought it out after being blown away by RAISING ARIZONA from the Coen Brothers). And I’ve seen it one other time, perhaps 15 years ago. But revisiting it now, decades later, is really revelatory.

It’s a film-noir set in Texas. Bar owner (Dan Hedaya) is suspicious of the faithfulness of his young wife (Frances McDormand, in her film debut) and has hired a sleazy private eye to follow her (M. Emmett Walsh, in the role of his lifetime). Turns out, she is just embarking on an affair with an attractive bartender (John Getz), and incriminating photos are provided to the cuckolded husband. He wants bloody revenge. The private detective has other ideas. Unexpected twists and turns ensue. I don’t want to share much more, in case you haven’t seen this. But while the movie contains many solid scenes, lots of tension and really nice performances…there are two scenes that for me are iconic. Mid-way through the film, an uncooperative body needs to be buried. The scene is surprising, funny and tense as hell. And the final long set-piece that concludes BLOOD SIMPLE is fantastic. Super exciting, extremely well acted and concluding in a surprising and even chilling way. So enjoyable!

--

--

Reuben Murray

I love movies and like to write about my thoughts on them (a sort of intellectual exercise). I hope that you'll appreciate some of my opinions as well.